The Hills Are Alive…

Happy Easter, friends (or Happy Sunday to those of you who aren’t celebrating!)

This morning I was awoken by the howling choir… aka my dogs.  Whenever my father leaves the house in the morning, they put on a lovely little show of very loud howling.

I was off in dreamland.. and the howling began.  But I wasn’t too upset, because when I opened my eyes.. something wonderful happened.  I could see

S U N S H I N E!

It was

G L O R I O U S.

Knowing that rain was expected later in the day (and not sure how much later it would be)… I hippity hopped out of bed  like the Easter Bunny and got dressed – ready to conquer my 7 mile run!

Pre-Run Fuel: A little clemintine and one of Katie’s Raw Thin Mint Fudge Babies (YOU MUST TRY FUDGE BABIES IF YOU HAVE NOT DONE SO ALREADY.. THEY ARE THE JAM!)

I set out at about 8:30am – and it was already 65*.  LOVE.  I knew I was in for quite the run though. See, my childhood house is on the top of a mountain.  Whatever way you run, you are going to encounter hills.  Lots of hills. And yes, those hills were alive this morning!

I mapped out my run at Mapmyrun last night… but of course veered off my original plan when I remembered a scenic cul-de-sac that in my mind – I remembered as being flat.

Apparently my mind likes to play tricks on me.. because the road was a giagantic hill.  It is newer construction – and not even in the map my run map, so I kind of had to fudge with the mileage.

In the end, I ran 7.30 miles in 1:01:30 – average 8:24/mile. I am very happy with this pace because there were 5  large hills that I conquered – and I still pulled off a good pace!

Heart Rate Stats:

Average: 157 BPM

Max: 187 BPM

I sure ain’t hatin’ these stats :)

As I was running – I was able to ponder how far I have come as a runner in the past year.  Last spring and summer – I used to drive my car downtown and park in a commuter lot because it would allow me to run on a flatter surface.  I would even admit that I was running down their to avoid the lively hills in my neighborhood.

Rewind even more – previous to last spring – I would only run on the treadmill or on a track because I knew that I could avoid hills all together!

Now, I am game for any hill you want to through in my face.  I feel so accompished when I get to the top of a big hill (and its even better if I know I will be running back down it later ;) )

Hills are no longer my enemy.. and I am proud that I can say that!

After my run I had my daily bowl of oats:

  • 1/2 c. rolled oats
  • 1/2 cup almond milk
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 1 sliced banana
  • 1/2 tsp 100% cocoa powder
  • 1 tbsp peanut butter

I have been hot on anything and everything containing bananas, chocolate, and peanut butter lately!

I sat outside for a while to feel the warmth of the sunshine – and reconnect with nature! My house is in the middle of the woods and there are so many animals, birds, etc that are all around. It felt good to get a good dose of fresh air! :)

Oh, Hello Mr. Squirrel

Yes, there is a chicken coop next door!

Everyone came out to see me!

Told ya I lived in the middle of the woods!

I helped out around the house a little bit – including this:

Taking down wallpaper from underneath the kitchen desk.  My parents think I am the most nimble in the family.  Little do they know that my muscles are extremly sore from yesterday’s circuit and today’s run.  I think I sounded just like them when I got up from this position!

Now, it is time to enjoy some Easter “Blinner” as my brother calls it (Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner)… and then head on back to the condo!

One thing I always know I will find when come home:

Automatic Stirrer

Random new kitchen gadgets.  Those info-mercials really get my dad every time…

Later tonight, I will be posting my Weekly Workout Wrap-Ups – a new series that I will be doing every Sunday that details my workouts for the week and allows me to reflect on how I am feeling and what I would like to do differently in the future!

Now get offline… and either a) Enjoy your Easter … or b) Do something that YOU love to do if you are not celebrating!

8 responses to “The Hills Are Alive…

  1. Awesome stats!! I love getting my heart raqte up like that and hillas are the best way to do it! It’s amazinglooking back on running progress, too. I remember two years ago I wasn’t even able to run 1/4 a mile straight and now I’m up to running 11 straight (when I’m not injured, of course!) But you sure have made awesome progress, good job!
    By the way, you won my giveaway in case you haven’t gotten my email yet!
    Have a wonderful day!

  2. Hahah I love the commercials for the stirrer!!! Happy Easter!

  3. Great job on conquering hills :) I used to hate them too but now I just embrace them because they are kind of like life… sometimes you have a hard time, but at least you get to run DOWN after you reach the top :)!
    I love all the pictures, especially the squirrel and taking down the wall paper!

  4. Awww happy Easter, sweetie pie!! (Chocolate cream pie, maybe? hehe)
    It was already 70 here yesterday morning when I went out to run… so much better than past Easters when I’ve had to change from a pretty dress into fleece pants! :(

  5. Pingback: WINNING | beyondbananas

  6. Pingback: WYWL 10K Race Recap | beyondbananas

Leave a Reply

