Hot, Hot, Hot

That describes the weather in southwest CT today. And I am definitely NOT hating it. It is the first seasonally warm day – with lots of bright sunshine!

Although this morning, dense fog kind of clogged up my ride to work.  I love this time of year because I no longer have to drive to work in the dark – but today, the fog took over, and semi-dark it was.

I am back into my routine – and I crave routine – so in that sense, I am happy to be back up and at ‘em – back making little geniuses out of the 17 sweet-faced 8 year olds that I spend a majority of my time with!

Normally, I eat my b-fast oats at home. Cook em up nice and hot on the stove. But, I am mixing it up a little bit and bringing some over night oats to work with me so I can get a few extra minutes of shut eye.

This is what remained. Woops. I forgot to take my picture before eating. Well, there is still ONE spoonful yet. See it there…back in the corner?

Last night, I used Katie’s voluminous oats trick. (Seriously.. you can find anything you need on her site!)  I cooked up my oats – using more liquid then usual. (I used 1/2 c. oats and 1 & 3/4 c. liquid). I added in a banana and 1/2 a scoop of protien powder… Let it sit in the fridge over night – and was greeted with a HEAP of oats this morning!

Since it is getting warmer, I am totally loving eating my oats cold.. very refreshing. I love my oats – but hot food and hot/sticky weather just won’t go together. Overnight oats is the perfect solution! :)

***

I had a GREAT first day back!

Clean Classroom--soon to be destroyed :)

My students were on their best behavior…which was a pleasant surprise. Long vacations can sometimes make bad habits come back out of the woodwork. None of that today.. (Although some looked like zombies-not used to the school schedule).

My present to them for having such a fab first day back was a GLITTERING, SPARKLING, BRAND SPANKING NEW….

READING LOG!

Don’t worry, I also treated them to these cute little spring eggs – filled with a special treat. Gotta love when holiday items are 50% off at Walmart the second the holiday is over.

30 of these bad boys, filled with a treat.. for $2.00. Wam, bam, thank you mam!

Best part of being an elementary teaching in warm weather.. OUTDOOR RECESS. We have a short one in the morning and a longer one in the afternoon.  Soaked up every ray of sunshine! (Plus, we did part of our math lesson outside).

Okay. I’ll stop boring you with my life as a teacher. On to more important things…

Throughout the day, my left achilles tendon was SUPER sore. I don’t know if it was because I was up and down stairs all day.. or the shoes with NO support.. or what…

I stopped on my way home at a nice area in the town I went to college in so I could attempt a nice flat run.  Since I was hurting a little, I wasn’t going to push too hard – and promised myself I would stop if the pain got to be too much.  I aimed at around a 9/min mile..but ended up closer to 8:30. I felt like I was going way slower then an 8:30 mile.  Does this happen to anyone else? Could it be possible that my Garmin was off?  Or is it just my judgement?

I was dripping with sweat.. practically before I began.  That is my favorite part of running in on a hot day though.  I.love.to.sweat.  (Does that make me even more weird then I already am?! :) )

Lap Stats:

  • Mile 1: 8:32
  • Mile 2: 8:27
  • Mile 3: 8:23
  • Mile 4: 8:29
  • AVERAGE: 8:28/Mile

Pretty Consistent.. wouldn’t you say?  At least I kept a steady pace. Even my heart rate was consistent.  My max was 170 – but average was 161…meaning I was exerting the same amount of energy for my run (I guess that would explain the pace consistency as well…)

Thumbs Up!

My achilles was a little sore throughout the run – but I don’t think it was so tight that I needed to stop.  From what I have read  – I am going to guess it is tight from all of the hills I ran this weekend. I like diagnosing myself! ;) I have been looking up ways to stretch it out online.. but thought I’d give a shout to all the runners out there and ask what types of things you do when your achilles is really tight…

Any & all suggestions would be more then welcome!

I loved ALL of your stories on your doggies/pets!  Thanks for all of your compliments on the adorableness of my dogs (we are all partial to our own, I know).  I will be sure to tell them they were a HIT on Beyond Bananas!

Something to think about: School vacations as a child.. which one was your fave?  Winter Break.. February Break… April Break?

Personally, I think I enjoyed winter and Feb. break most when I was in elementary school.  I distinctly remember snowtubing outside with the neighbors.. and how my mother would always have hot chocolate waiting when we came inside.  Snow day lunches were treats too.. usually Kraft Mac&Cheese or Elio’s Pizza!

Coming your way tomorrow:

  • Chicken Paella
  • Evening Wordless Wednesday Post
16 responses to “Hot, Hot, Hot

  1. Aww you are SO sweet!! And lol it was warmer there today than in Texas!
    Hmmm… I think I liked winter break best. Hot cocoa, ice skating… and Christmas! :)

  2. I’m excited for that hot weather to make its way up to Boston :)

  3. Yep-make sure you step your heel onto every and any step, if you forget to do this, it can shorten the achilles tendon, causing that pain.

    To stretch it out, do just that, step just the ball of your foot on the step and allow the heel to slowly go over the edge of the step-you’ll feel a nice, deep stretch go through your achilles and into your calves as well.

    NO problem Sweating it out daily over here!! I NEED my daily sweat. haha-so I feel ya, woman.

  4. oh I miss being on a school schedule so much and having breaks!

  5. I crave set schedules as well!! I like hearing about your teacher life, it sounds so fun with all those lil kiddos!
    Glad your run went well :)

  6. Oh downward dog is a great stretch for the achilles and you’re right running up hills stretches the achilles much more than flat running so it could have caused the strain. You will probably want to take it easy on the running for the rest of the week (i.e. cross training and/or very light mileage and speed). When I had strained achilles I also loved to massage them with some icy hot in the evening to release tension. I hope it feels better soon!

    I always like spring break best! )

    • Love downward dog! I think I am going to take today – or do something very light. I have a race on Sunday – so I want to make sure I am good to go for that! Thanks for your tips!
      I may try the icy hot as well :)

  7. I haven’t tried the voluminous oat trick, but I need to!!!

  8. U look so pretty! love the color of your top!

    Glad you had a good day back!

    My favorite vacation in school was SUMMER vacation!! I was always so excited to enjoy the summer off!!!

  9. I think summer break was my favorite. Spring break we always went to the babysitter, and that’s boring. Summer..I don’t know what we did but it was longer. Then in 4th & 5th grade the school i went to adopted year round school. It was nuts. There were different “tracks” and each track had a different vacation schedule. We went to school for X amt of weeks, and were off for 2wks or something wacky like that. It was crazy. We basically had no real summer. It was strange, and I don’t think they do that anymore.

    • Wow.. i would definitely not be feeling the year round school thing…summer vacation was always welcomed by me as a student.. and now as a teacher. I work all summer long with other stuff.. but a break from loads of kiddies.. every day.. for an extended amount of time is totally nice!

  10. Pingback: Raced through this week! | beyondbananas

Leave a Reply

