Food History, Part One

Growing up, I had a love/hate relationship with food.  LOVED the way it tasted, HATED what it did to my body.  If I had been giving it the proper nutrients, I don’t think I would have had the hate part of the relationship.

Source

Growing Up –
I grew up with the typical childhood staples.  Breakfasts included sugary cereals, poptarts, and toaster strudles.  Since balanced meals were never really a concern of mine, I never really considered the value of what I was putting into my body before starting a day of school.  It was not out of the not out of the ordinary for me to grab a Toasted Almond or Chocolate Eclair Good Humor ice cream bar on my way out the door.
Generally, lunches were purchased from the school cafeteria.  Bahama Mama Slushies, french fries, and barely baked, yet oh so yummy, sugar cookies (3 or 1$ .. how could you go wrong) rounded out the usual choices.  When I would splurge for the salad bar … I would use so many bacon bits, croutons, and such a large amount of cheese that the purpose of the food ended up being counter-active!
When dinner was eaten at home, it was balanced.  A protein, a veggie, and some carbs.  Of course, we’d have pizza nights, grab some quick grub from a local burger joint and eat some not so healthy choices as well.  For the most part, though, home cooked dinners were balanced.
However, homecooked dinners were also a rarity.  Not because my mother wasn’t willing to cook them.. but because we were not even home!

Beginning in sixth grade, I played soccer and baskebtall in very competitive leagues.  Usually, my mother would pick me up from school and we would leave right away for practice (usually half-way across the state).  We’d leave early to beat rush hour.  I’d sit in the car and do my homework since we’d arrive for practice at an uncalled for early time!  By the time practice was over, we were on our hour (or more) trek home from practice.  With my tummy a-rumblin (I was a growing gal!), I found there to be no other option than to hit up a fast food restuarant.  McDonald’s, Burger King, Taco Bell, and Pizza Hut (just the bread sticks) … became typical dinners on practice nights.  (Did I mention that I had practice 4 – 5 nights a week??!)

A little shout out to my former soccer team, Yankee United Pride:

Red Bandana.. Ya Dig! Circa … Freshman Year in HS

This cycle of fast food, sugar and processed foods continued through the beginning of high school.  But as I matured, I became much more aware of my weight in comparison to my peers.  Was I a little overweight … yes.  Was my health at risk?  Maybe. 

What was important was the fact that I was not comfortable in my own skin.  I was self-concious…had a poor self esteem, and did not respect and value my body the way I should have.

Source

So I did make some changes to my eating habits… but not necesarily in the healthiest of ways. 

So check back tomorrow to find out more about my history of food.. and this love hate relationship that continued…

 
How have your eating habits changed over the years?  Were you too busy to eat healthy as a youngster?
4 responses to “Food History, Part One

  1. Sounds very similar to my history with food. I didnt notice my weight too much until high school, and thats when all the problems started.

    Looking forward to reading more. 🙂

  2. Pingback: Food History – Part Three | beyondbananas

  3. Pingback: One Month In – **GIVEAWAY** | beyondbananas

  4. just found your blog! this is almost identical to my story.. I wish I could go back to high school and eat food that FUELED me instead of dragged me down. I still struggle with body image, but knowing that I am eating healthy and fueling my body makes all the difference 🙂

Leave a Reply

