Waaah to Wednesday Weather

Yes, that was a Snooki wahh… No I do not like Jersey Shore.

However, I do find the WAAHH to be very useful when I wake up and this is what I see:

Okay – so maybe I didn’t see this as soon as I woke up (since it is pitch black when I wake up.. ahem 5:15 wake up call!)

Actually, it was much worse than this when I woke up.  We had downpours, we had chilly temperatures.. and we had wind.  BOY was there wind.  Woke Justin up in the night (normal) and woke me up too (NOT normal.. I sleep like a brick).  Honestly, I felt like I was in a monsoon as I sprinted to my car from the front of the condo.  (Don’t worry, my car is only about 30 ft away, so I didn’t get too wet 🙂 )

This put quite a damper on my day.  Now, I am in the middle of training for my first race, a 10K. Today’s training run was a 4 mile run.  Just to be clear… I don’t mind running in the rain…it can be refreshing.  I don’t mind running when it is a little chilly…my blood gets pumping pretty quick.  I don’t even mind running in the wind…it builds..character?  However… when you combined the 3, it is a big fat NO in my book!

Tell me how ya feel about that!!

So, rather than an outdoor run, I opted to head to the gym after work.  I pumped out 4.85 miles on the treadmill (4mi at a quicker pace then I slowed it down for the last .85mi) in 40 minutes.  I walked to cool down for another 10 minutes…then tried to stretch.  Stretching at the gym is always tough for me.. because I am thinking of all that I can be doing at home. I got in about 5 minutes.

I saw 2 people running outside on my 2 mile drive home from the gym.  It made me regret my decision to run on the TM.  If they can tough it out… so can I!!! Waaah to that!

The biggest WAAH of this Wednesday… is truly a tragedy.

That’s right folks.  I have finished my last bag of TJs Peanut Flour.  I am devastated.  I have gone to 5 different TJs in my area.. just to check to make sure they don’t have one bag left.  (This one was actually a lucky find after it was discontinued and I had no luck finding it in other stores).  I honestly feel like a part of me is now missing!

At least I enjoyed the last bit in the way I enjoy it most… mixed with almond milk and a pinch of salt… eaten with a spoon.  I am not hard to please.  I enjoyed it along side this lovely bowl of oats for breakfast this morning…

That is not like loveliness, but I love the way all of the ingredients look when I first cook them!

Pineapple Banana Oats

In this morning’s mix:

  • 1/2 c. oats
  • 1 scoop vanilla protein powder (I used Sunwarrior)
  • 1/2 c. almond milk
  • 1/2 c. water
  • 1 medium banana, sliced
  • handful of frozen pineapple
  • sunflower seed garnish

Yummy, yummy… get in my tummy.  (Okay, so the photo isn’t great, but I swear it was delicious!)

Your thoughts on training on the treadmill when the weather is bad? Do you cave in and run inside.. or suck it up and brave the storm?

8 responses to “Waaah to Wednesday Weather

  1. I love the idea of the protein powder in oatmeal. As an oatmeal aficionado, I thought I had tried everything — I was wrong! Definitely will give this a shot. Good luck with your 10K!!

  2. Ha, oatmeal is definitely not photogenic – but it’s always delicious! 🙂

  3. I’m the worst outside runner ever. I don’t go out under 45 degrees or in the rain! Unfortunately it’s difficult for me to transition to outside runs now that I’ve been inside since October.

    • I actually used to be against outdoor running! I thought it messed with my knees and I would roll my ankles a lot.. Right..like a treadmill is soo much better for my knees!?

      I am loving my new love for outdoor runs though!

  4. Pingback: Do you know the Muffin Man? | beyondbananas

  5. Peanut Flour!? I’ve never heard of this!

Leave a Reply

