Spicy Egg Tacos

Breakfast For Dinner?  Yes please.  Breakfast is definitely my favorite meal of the day!  So I am all for having it 3 times a day.

These egg tacos have a lovely kick.  I honestly did not feel like I was eating eggs, but I will say that I enjoyed them very much and felt completely satisfied with this dinner.

Ingredients:

  • 3 eggs (I just use the whites, but use any combo you would like!)
  • 1 6″ whole wheat tortilla (I use Smart and Delicious by La Tortilla Factory)
  • 1/8 tsp black pepper
  • 1/8 tsp garlic powder
  • 1 heaping tbsp salsa (I used Trader Joe’s Chipotle Salsa for the KICK!)
  • Small handful of dark red kidney beans
  • 1 to 2 tbsp reduced fat mexican cheese

So, I decided that I wanted to have more of a crunch in my taco, so I put the tortilla in a pan and broiled it in the over for about 3 minutes to crisp-en it up.

Warning, it may bubble.. and you may think you have made a serious mistake!

Have no fear, there will not be an explosion.  Do keep a close eye on it though & check it often until it reaches your desired consistency!

Combine eggs whites, pepper, and garlic powder in a small plan.  Cook on medium high until semi-cooked, but still with some liquid.

Add in salsa.  Cook thoroughly.  When eggs are cooked, fold in kidney beans.

Transfer the eggs to your newly crisped taco shell (still in pan).

Top with cheese.  Return to oven for 2-3 minutes or until cheese is melted.

Fold taco and enjoy!

I added some green beans for some extra veggies.

My only issue – DO NOT forget to drain the excess water from your eggs before transferring to the tortilla like I did.  It made for a soupy mess beneath the taco as I was eating.

Other then the wetness (which did not effect taste) … Delicious!  Do you like to eat breakfast for dinner?  I try to modify breakfast foods to make them feel a little more dinner-y at times.  Most often, its full out breakfast style though!

8 responses to “Spicy Egg Tacos

  1. no one said eggs are a breakfast food! I never eat them in the AM

  2. Oh I have done that before where I did not drain eggs, no fun, wrap got soggy : p

    Love breakfast for dinner! So funny your parents got married after tax day, eeeeek I dont like my birthday now that Im older, and this year I owed, so it stunk : p

    • I know.. right!! Not as much of a fan of birthdays as I get older. I used to have countdowns.. not so much anymore. But hey.. we are going to age gracefully because we take AWESOME care of our bodies.. right?!

  3. I so agree that breakfast is great no matter what time of the day!

    looks delish! 🙂

  4. Caitlin!!!!!!!!!! I saw your little picture next to your comment today and was like wait a second…. So glad to see you started a blog! Welcome to the wonderful healthy living blog world… it’s quite fun.

    I love having breakfast for every meal of the day, too. These look awesome!

  5. EGG TACOS? Hahah! Why did I not think of that! Sounds delish!!

Leave a Reply

