Tricky Tempo Runs

Hi y’all! 🙂

I am in an ecstatic mood!  Why you ask… there are several reasons!

  • Tomorrow is FRIDAY!
  • Tomorrow is not just any Friday.. it is the Friday before April Vacation!  Yes,  I am probably more excited then my students!
  • It was a glorious day here in CT – 70* in places.. and not too windy!
  • I got in a bangin’ run!  Felt so good to be out in the fresh air!
  • I had a delish homemade salmon burger for dinner (recipe tomorrow!)

Pre-Run Happiness…although my face ain’t showin it!

I set out on my run.. and had that hop in my step.. why?  Because my ipod decided it wanted to play LiVin’ La ViDa LoCa… Ricky Martin knows how to get a girl to run!

Here’s the thing.  I am training for my first race.. a 10K.  I decided just 2 weeks ago that I was going to do it, so I have a very shortened training plan – adapted from Hal Higdon.  I run often, so I am not concerned with finishing the race. I’ve run way further than 6.2 miles.  But I want to have a good time.  It will totally be a PR since it will be my only race to date.. but I aim high and am competitive.

Anywho – I was supposed to do a tempo run today… starting slow, building up to almost race pace… then slowing down again.  Yeah.. that did not happened.  Once my feet hit the pavement, I was just on the go!  I think that it would have been a lot easier to do a tempo run on the treadmill – where I manually control the pace, but come on..  70*…sunny, slight breeze… no way jose!

Over the 40 minute run (well… 40:41…) I ran 4.9 miles.  8:18/mile average pace.  Clearly there was no tempo!  It was just a regular run for me.  I usually average between 7:45 and 8:25 per mile.

I do not have a Garmin to track my pace as I am running.  I just punch my digits into map my run after mapping out my route when I get home.  So, I don’t really have much knowledge of my pace.  This was my first time running this route.. I made it up as I went along.. so I had no idea where mile markers would be.

As I write this post.. I am already figuring out numerous ways that I could have made this tempo run more effective!  (Besides getting a garmin to constantly track my pace).  I should run routes where I know the approximate mile markers and adjust my pace at each mile perhaps.

All of you runners out there.. do you have any tips or suggestions on how to successfully complete a tempo run?!  I am a balls to the wall kind of runner.. so it is sometimes difficult for me to slow down when I need to!

Catch ya tomorrow! xoxo

4 responses to “Tricky Tempo Runs

  1. Hooray for a good run! ❤ omg girl i cant wait for your salmon burger recipe tomorrow!!!! =) I have been hunting for a fabulous one!

  2. I’m doing marathon training but I don’t have any tempo run days. I’ve just been doing steady state runs and then doing runs with hills.
    I don’t do very well in tempo runs because I feel the need to run really really fast and then I get tired and frustrated :/

  3. Pingback: Dream Fitnessentials | beyondbananas

Leave a Reply

