Salmon Burgers

LOVE salmon.  I am actually beginning to love ALL fish.. which I used to never touch with a 10 foot pole!

Salmon can be expensive.. but I say it is worth it.. it is packed with so many nutrients and is delicious, even if it is just baked plain!

These burgers began as an experiment.. but since my experiment, I have enjoyed them many times.  I was nervous at first, because I used canned salmon.  I’m not gonna lie.. it skeeved me out a little bit.  But do not make the same mistake I did.. because it is fabulous!  I wish I had tried it sooner!

In addition to the burger, I have provided a recipe for an Apple Broccoli Slaw with a honey mustard/balsamic dressing.  Enjoy! 🙂

Salmon Burger

2 Burgers Patties

Ingredients

  • 1 can of pink canned salmon
  • 1 egg white
  • 1 tbsp Spicy Mustard
  • 1 tsp Balsamic Vinaigrette
  • 2-3 Whole Wheat Crackers.. Crumbled
  • 1 tbsp rolled oats (not pictures)
  • 1/8 tsp pepper
  • Couple shakes of basil

Rinse and drain can of salmon.  Combine all ingredients in a bowl.  You want it to be a little bit dry – but not too dry.  You need to make a patty out of this.. so it should be the consistency of any other burger you make!  If you find the mixture to be too wet, add some more crackers or oats.  If it is too dry, add water 1 tsp at a time!  Your mixture should look something like this:

You want to split the mixture in half, make 2 balls, and then flatten them into patties.

Use cooking spray to coat a skillet and turn heat to medium high.  Place the two patties in the pan.  Cook for three minutes.  Flip & cook for three more minutes.

I put my burger on one slice of Ezekial 4:9 Whole Wheat Bread… (Honestly.. it was the only bread in the house..I was a little bit limited.. but I love my Ezekial..) I guess I had an open-faced burger. But I topped it with some delish Apple-Broccoli Slaw!

Apple Broccoli Slaw

(Tonight I only made 1 serving – so the pictures will refelct that, but I doubled everything incase you are making for 2! My second burger will be enjoyed for lunch tomorrow!)

Ingredients


  • About 2 cups of Broccoli Slaw (I get mine at Stop and Shop – would love to make my own someday though)
  • 1 Apple (Gala for Me.. Yummy!)
  • 1 tbsp mustard
  • 1 tbsp balsamic vinaigrette
  • 1 tsp honey

Dice Apple (for one serving.. I probably used 1/3 of the apple.. but this is truly up to your discretion.. and of course munched on the rest of it while cooking! 🙂 )

Put slaw in a microwave safe bowl and microwave for 1 minutes.  Remove, add in sliced apples and microwave for 30 more seconds.  In a small container, mix mustard, balsamic, and honey.  Stir in desired amount with the slaw mixture as a dressing.

I put some of this slaw (plain) on top of my burger and then tossed the rest with some more dressing and ate it on the side. YUM!



7 responses to “Salmon Burgers

  1. This is such a fantastic looking recipe, can’t wait to try!

  2. Love love love. This looks so delicious! The slaw is perrrrfect 🙂

  3. YUM! Salmon burgers are the best! I love the addition of the cole slaw on them as well.

  4. Excellent post thanks for sharing. Food is something I can enjoy all around. If I’m not eating it. I’m reading and looking at pictures about it.

    Rise n Shine Eggs – Breakfast Recipe

  5. Pingback: Running to a Beat | Beyond Bananas

Leave a Reply

