Do you know the Muffin Man?

Happy Monday Y’all!  Normally, I would not be this chipper, but I am on April Vacation until next Tuesday.. so I am not going to lie, I am definitely a little giddy!

If youre on vacation... make a muscle?

Catching up from the weekend:

Yes.. I was busy little blogger this weekend. I am sure I will be posting a lot this week too, but I need to take a reality check once work starts up again.  Posting 3 times a day.. just isn’t realistic!

Now onto the goods:

Peanut Butter-Banana Muffins

(Dark Chocolate Chips.. Optional, but Encouraged 🙂 )
 

Ingredients

DRY

  • 3/4 c. whole wheat flour
  • 1/2 c. multi-purpose flour (if I hadn’t run out, I would have used PEANUT FLOUR)
  • 1/4 c. rolled oats
  • 1 tbsp vanilla protein powder
  • 1/2 tbsp stevia (or other sweetener)
  • 2 tbsp brown sugar
  • 1 tsp baking powder

       WET

  • 3 extra ripe bananas, mashed (check out the old produce on clearance!)
  • 1/4 c. creamy peanut butter
  • 3/4 c. almond milk
  • 1 egg white
  • 2 tbsp honey
  • 3 tbsp natural applesauce
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1 tsp almond extract
  • extra peanut butter for dollop in middle

       OPTIONAL

  • Dark Chocolate Chips
  • Any sort of nut
  • Anything you want to add 🙂

Preparation

Preheat Oven to 350*

Spray a muffin pan with non-stick baking spray and set aside.

Combine all dry ingredients in bowl.

Slowly mix in each wet ingredient.

Add your extras!

Once blended well, fill 1/2 of each muffin mold in the pan.

Using the extra peanut butter, add a little dollop in the middle to be enjoyed as a little treat while eating your muffin (you ay want to use chocolate.. flavored PB.. I just used plain, but plant to explore!)

first row is full, 2nd row, just "dolloped"

Pop in the oven and cook for 28-30 minutes.. or until a toothpick comes out clean.

Here you have it!

Chocolate Chip

Chip-less.. check the dollop!


My concerns about this recipe are the consitency.  They seem pretty dense to me and I am not sure how to fix that.  I think next time I will use less flour. Since this was my second time baking them today (huge disappointment first time, but I changed it up)… I decided two batches was enough for the day!

Suggestions on how to make them better are welcome.  As for taste, I think that are rather yummy.

Good Luck to all the marathoners in Boston today!

20 responses to “Do you know the Muffin Man?

  1. Excellent post thanks for sharing. Food is something I can enjoy all around. If I’m not eating it. I’m reading and looking at pictures about it.

    Rise n Shine Eggs – Breakfast Recipe

  2. Thanks for sharing your peanut butter-banana muffin recipe. I think that anything with the words peanut butter and banana together is a winner for me. Enjoy your vacation!

  3. You had me at PB & banana, but chocolate chips made them sound even better!

  4. How about whipping the egg white and folding it in? Just a thought!

    Have you bought peanut flour anywhere but TJ’s? I was there this weekend and they had none. =(

    • I’ve gotten it only at TJs…and they have discontinued it 😦 .. seriously worst news of my life. There are a few places to order it online.. but I would want to order in bulk.. and I have a peanut flour addiction! I am afraid I would consume pounds and pounds of peanut flour if I had it at my disposal.
      I will definitely try whipping the egg white! It will give it a fluffier texture! Thanks for the suggestion!

  5. Love love love. These look so moist and sweet. I’m going to need one for breakfast, lunch, snack, and dinner today. Get them here as soon as possible 🙂

  6. WOW these look awesome…I am going to have to stick around for more great ideas,

  7. These look delicious! Love the chocolate chips, but nice to know you could make them without. Have a great vacation!

  8. Chocolate chips are never optional 😉

  9. Loving these muffins! They need a slab of almond butter spread on them!

    Enjoy your vacation love, any fun plans for the week off ; )
    Hope you enjoy your day! xoxo ❤

  10. To make your muffins fluffier, you need to add some liquid to the recipe! Liquid always helps muffins to rise. You may need to modify your recipe, but I really think the liquid will do the trick (I try to add at least a cup of liquid (usually milk) to my muffins and they rise really well). GOOD LUCK .

    • Ahh – you are a savior! I had my recipe WRONG on my site.. I did have 1/2 cup of almond milk in my recipe, but I omitted it when I listed the ingredients. I should probably use more though. I updated my ingredients to accurately depict what I put in. Thanks for your tip!

  11. Pingback: Monday Morning Muffins | Beyond Bananas

Leave a Reply

