Stawberry Cheesecake for Breakfast?!

Another not so lovely day of weather ahead of us here in lovely CT!

At leas the temperatures are kind of warm

But no worries, I am having a terrific day because I made this fabulous bowl of oats for breakfast. (*Note.. photos never do oats justice!!!)

Strawberry Cheesecake Oatmeal


Ingredients

  • 1/2 c. oats
  • 1/2 c. almond milk (I used unsweetened vanilla almond breeze)
  • 1/2 c. water
  • 1 scoop vanilla protein powder (Sun Warrior :))
  • pinch salt
  • 1/2 to 1 c. frozen or fresh strawberries (your call!)
  • 1/3 c. low fat cottage cheese

Combine first 5 ingredients and cook like you would any other set of oats.

Once the mixture boils and you turn the heat to simmer status, add in your strawberries.

Cook for 2-3 minutes.  Add in cottage cheese and cook until warmed through.  Add extra cottage cheese on top if you desire.

This is great..sweet, but a little sour. A perfect mix up for me, since I tend to add the same ingredients..all the time.  But – I did not slice up my daily morning banana and add it to my oats this morning. DUN DUN DUN.. don’t worry, I will have one as a snack later.

***

Since I am off from running today (a very welcome rest by my body) I am going to hit a Yoga class.  I used to go to Yoga regularly and was amazed at what it did to my mind, body in spirit.  I was digging the Bikram Yoga.. but it is expensive, so I stopped.  Now my gym offers Yoga.  It is not Bikram, but it is free.. so it will do!

Source

Super excited to get back into it? You Betcha!

I am sure you are all wondering how I did with my paper grading yesterday. Well, probably not, but I am going to tell you anyway!  DONZO! No more papers to grade.. holler!  Today, I have bigger fish to fry though.  I’ve got to hanker down and do this paper.  I have had since January to really get cracking at it.. and I’ve done.not.a.single.thing.  It is due in a month…and I must do it as a beginning teacher to keep my certification.

So my dear blog friends, I must eliminate procrastination outlets.. ie.. the blog world.  I am going to take a hiatus from my afternoon post… but will surely have my DREAM FITNESSENTIALS posted tonight!

Source

Later Gators! Enjoy your day 🙂

23 responses to “Stawberry Cheesecake for Breakfast?!

  1. The Teenage Taste

    Mmmm…that oatmeal looks fabulous! I love all things having to do with strawberries and oatmeal. 😛

  2. Strawberries are popular today! ha! Loving your oat combo too!!!

    Oh I love yoga but have not done in so long, If I had a yoga buddy, I would go more ; )

    have a great day love! xoxo

  3. Your weather looks like ours in Pittsburgh. Sometimes I feel like I live in Seattle.

    Love those oats, I might try it with lite ricotta!

  4. I am in absolute HEAVEN with your bowl of oats!!! 😀 Strawberry Cheesecake is one of my favorites! I just need to get me some Vanilla Protein Powder! 😀

    Nice weather! 🙂 Here, it’s just hot and humid. 🙂

    • Bring the heat and the humidity this way.. please! (I may regret saying this come July)
      The oats would taste great without the protein powder too I am sure.. I would use a full cup of almond (or other) milk rather than splitting it with water if you don’t have protein powder. They main reason I use the protein pwder is to keep me fuller.. longer!

  5. The weather is NH is gross today too, but at least you’ve got yummy oats to keep ya company 🙂

  6. a taste of health with balance

    i have yet to put cottage cheese in my oatmeal.. i need to get on that!

  7. Mmm this post reminded me how much I love cottage cheese in my oats.

  8. Boooooo! I hate rain! thankfully where I’m at, its actually been fairly nice for once! ahaha.

    Love oats! So true, pictures can NEVER show their true yumminess!

  9. awesome oatmeal yum! I used to love bikram yoga. I just haven’t gone that’s all 😛 hope you have a productive and blessed day!

  10. I love the fact that you’ve split up dream fitness equipment from must-haves, because I often get caught up in confusion over whether I really ‘need’ a gadget or just want it.

    I wish there were some good yoga classes in my area: they’re all too focused on static stretching and meditation for me.

    Thanks so much for all of your recommendations and advice to me.

    • I’m not going to lie.. when you read my post tonight.. you’ll see that I really do WANT some of my dream things.. it just isn’t in my budget right now (I am super conservative about money!) It is sometimes nice to get things you want too.. not just what you need!

  11. I completely agree… Pictures NEVER do oats justice!!!

  12. Your oatmeal looks amazing! I’ve just discovered how amazing cottage cheese and oats are together 🙂

  13. I looooove bikram too! But you are right it gets soo expensive, so I mix it up with regular classes. My bf always jokes that I should shut myself in my room with one of my yoga dvds and a space heater to save money on the classes! Nice thought, but it’s not the same! haha

    • Hahahah!!!! When I was living at home, my brother used to suggest that alll the time! Esp since I used to complain about the cost. Funny how most male minds think alike.! 🙂

  14. Pingback: Advice Needed! | beyondbananas

Leave a Reply

