Homemade Hummus

Yesterday – I embarked on a journey.  It involved a can of chickpeas, some mix-ins, and a magic bullet.

Source

Folks, this piece of equipment is not equipped to blend the previously mentioned ingredients in a timely, hassle free manner.  Don’t get me wrong, I love my lil magic bullet (especially since I snagged it for the price of $0 from Parental Kitchen Equipment @ Co.).  It blends my smoothies to perfection (even when they contain ice) and can puree a banana in seconds.  But, goodness, I will be investing in another piece of equipment, Mr. Bullet, before I make hummus again.

Additionally, I began making this hummus in the morning.  But I screwed the top on so gosh darn tight..that I could not get it off.. trying as hard as I possible could.. on multiple occasions.  I am not a weak lady either.  So, I had no other choice but to throw it in the fridge.. and wait 7 hours for Justin to come home and take the top off for me. Then I continued.

Regardless of my struggles, I think the end product was pure goodness.  I mean, Justin likes it (or so he claims) and he isn’t always that easy to please with wealthy, healthy foods!

Spinach, Red Pepper, & Garlic Hummus

Ingredients

  • 1 can of chickpeas, shelled
  • 1/4 c. red pepper, chopped
  • 1 cup fresh spinach, chopped
  • 1 clove garlic, crushed in the garlic crusher thingy
  • 1 tsp ground cumin
  • 2 tsp oil (my oil supply is depleted right now, you may want to use something a little more classy 😉 )
  • Dash of kosher salt

Procedure

  • Open can of chick peas, rinse thoroughly


  • Shell chick peas (I suppose this is optional.. but it is just my preference to remove the outer coating)

Something about eating these makes my tummy churn

  • Rinse Again and place in food processor along with 1 tsp oil & 1 tsp ground cumin
  • Heat remaining tsp of oil in a skillet over medium heat & add peppers, spinach, and garlic, cooking thoroughly (you want to them to be semi-soft, but not too soft.. and definitely not raw)

  • Transfer these items into you food processor

If you use the magic bullet, dont say I didnt warn ya! 😉


  • Process until mixture becomes a creamy, dreamy, hummus delight

Hey Now! Up close and personal!

Yummy Hummy!

Enjoy with veggies, crackers.. fingers.  I love this.  I am even hiding some so it will be saved for the weekend and I can bring it home to the fam to try.  I can already tell they are skeptical.  But, I am going to surprise them! 

Enjoy!!

26 responses to “Homemade Hummus

  1. TheMagic Bullet is definitely a kitchen essential for me… I can’t believe I’ve never used it for hummus! This may need to be remedied today. 🙂

    I have the same issue with screwing the top on too tightly. We just don’t know our own strength – LOL!

    • Body Builders in the making! Now if only we had the same strength to unscrew the top.. as we did to screw it on. I am baffled as to where it disappears to in those couple of minutes!

  2. I’ve never made homemade hummus because I thought I’d need tahini and didn’t want to spend the $10 it costs at Giant Eagle. I hate when the MB doesn’t cooperate!

    • I thought I’d need tahini too, but it tastes great without it too!
      Seriously, I was ready to chuck my MB across the room. It would be like.. a 30 second blend, open up, scoop out blended hummus. Repeat. Repeat. Repeat.

  3. I really want a magic bullet! So much easier than a blender sometimes. I used to always make homemade hummus when I lived in Sweden, because I could never find it in the normal grocery stores. It’s fun to play around a little, and come up with fun new hummus recipes!

    • It is definitely fun to play around with new ingredients! Magic bullets are great because they are small.. easy to clean.. etc. There are just some things the lil ole bullet can’t handle!

  4. Yum! This looks similar to a guac/hummus dip at Trader Joe’s. I love, love, love hummus, and I can’t wait to try this one!

  5. LOVE hummus and this mixture looks so good! I can’t wait to try it! And…I would probably die without my bullet! 😉

  6. Yum! I love hummus and yours looks great. I love that you added spinach and red pepper! Your family is going to love this!

  7. Mmm, hummus. And I make it in my magic bullet all the time–a little tricky, but if you make it just a teeeeeny bit moister than necessary it blends just fine (and if you can resist and not eat it all right away, it thickens back up after a little time in the fridge)

  8. I never thought to add spinach to my hummus – what a great idea!!

  9. That looks delicious Caitlin!! I’ve always wanted a magic bullet but I’m sad it won’t blend chickpeas well! I wonder if there was too much stuff in there for it to blend well?

  10. Nothing beats homemade hummus, your recipe sounds so legit! Spinach is the best addition!

  11. I’ve been wanting to make hummus for FOREVER. Thanks for the bullet warning though lol

  12. Pingback: Owning Intervals | beyondbananas

  13. that looks like a wicked hummus recipe there !
    i like to add some thick yogurt,
    and i always have to be careful not to finish the whole thing before it goes on the table :p

  14. YUM!!! Hummus is one of my favorites!!! 😀 I just made some the other day. SO good! 😀

  15. This looks so good! I want a magic bullet now! lol

Leave a Reply

