Crazy Muffin Lady?

I am a little concerned. I think I may be turning into the crazy cat muffin lady.

All I want to do is bake muffins.  So far today, I’ve already made another batch of my Peanut Butter-Banana muffins for the family to try.  Then, I made some carrot muffins.  If I had more time, there are 3 other types of muffins that I would make right now.  In my defense, my plan was to make the carrot muffins into a loaf.. but in the end, I did not have enough batter.. so muffins it was!

Okay – so I do have the time. I have nothing to do today.  But I am fighting the urge to make more muffins.  Why?  Well, I already have almost 30 muffins that need to be eaten.  3 more batches.. would mean about 45 more muffins.

75 Muffins.

I do not think there is a logical reason for me to have 75 muffins.  We keep it low key for Easter – just the 4 of us – so I again..no need for 75 muffs.  Especially since I am experimenting. I guess I will hold off until next weekend :).

Anyways.. onto the goods.  And I am serious.  Thesearegooooood!

Carrot-Spice Muffins

(Makes 12 – 15 muffins)

Ingredients

Dry

  • 1 c. whole wheat flour
  • 1/2 c. all purpose flour (feel free to mix this up!)
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1.5 tsp cinnamon
  • 1.5 tsp nutmeg
  • 1 tbsp splenda
  • 1 tbsp light brown sugar

Wet

  • 1 & 1/4 c. shredded carrots (For me, it was 4 medium carrots)
  • 3/4 c Unsweetened Vanilla Almond Milk (Almond Breeze for me!)
  • 1/2 c. applesauce
  • 2 tbsp honey
  • 1 tsp vanilla

Optional Add-Ins

  • Raisins (I used 6 tbsp)
  • Walnuts (I used 1/4 c.)

Preparation is easy.  Combine all ingredients! 🙂  Before doing this, pre-heat the oven to 350* and spray your muffin pay with non-stick spray – or put your paper holders in their place!.

*Note – Do not use pre-shredded carrots.  I used this hand-held grator to shred my carrots.  You really get all the juices in there too.  Pre-Shredded carrots are dry. Also – your hands WILL turn orange…FOREVER ..jk! Prior to a lengthy scrub in the sink.. it looked like a bad self-tanner job on the palms of my hands! 🙂


After all ingredients are mixed well, use an ice-cream scoop to easily transfer the batter to the muffin tin.

For an extra taste of sweetness, you may choose to put a tiny drop of honey on the batter after tins are full.

These babies took a long time to cook.  34 minutes to be exact.  They were still a little gooey on the inside – just how I like them.  You can play around with the timing if you would like – find the consistency that is just right for you.

If you can resist, let them cool for a good 10 minutes before devouring.


These muffins are sweet enough – but have a nice spiced taste to them as well from the nutmeg! Oooey Goooey raisins were pretty nice too!

Enjoy!


7 responses to “Crazy Muffin Lady?

  1. Those are GORGEOUS!!!! I love how little sugar is in them!!! 😀 YAY!

  2. These look so fluffy and moist! Yumm 😀

  3. Umm..well, if you’d like to get rid of some of those 75 muffins..I’ll be happy to take some off your hands. 😉

  4. Pingback: Raindrops keep fallin’ on my head.. | beyondbananas

  5. Pingback: WINNING | beyondbananas

  6. Pingback: Productive Relaxation | beyondbananas

  7. Pingback: Monday Morning Muffins | Beyond Bananas

Leave a Reply

