Raindrops keep fallin’ on my head..

Today’s post is coming to you from Seattle.

Quit raining on my parade!

No.. not really.  Good old CT.  But seriously. I have had enough of this raw, rainy, cold weather.

They say April showers bring May flowers.. but I don’t think the weather has ever actually matched this saying.

And the flowers are already here. So enough with the rain. Thanks.

At least it looks like there will be some sunshine in the next 5 days.  Sunshine is good for your life.. if you ask me :). Hopefully I will be able to get in a nice long run tomorrow morning!

***

Now, normally, I have trouble sleeping through the entire night. I wake up two or three times to go to the bathroom.

Something about sleeping in my childhood room though – must lull me to sleep and provide security… and a much stronger bladder. I did not wake up once last night. In fact, I sleep through the night every time I am here! (I know I probably just jinxed myself for tonight).

I woke up feeling extremly rested this morning..which is always a plus.  I had some oats for b-fast (DUH!) and then got dressed to head out to a 2-hour circuit training class with my old trainer.

         

As I was rummaging through all of my bags.. I went into a panic. No sports bras.  Seriously, Caitlin… you just washed them all.  How could you not put any into your bag?  I checked the clock.. 8:15.  Whipped my lil mac open and checked the local K-Mart hours.

Perfect.  They opened at 8.  I throw on my clothes and dash to the car.

More panic.  In my mad dash I forgot to put on deoderant.

OH NO.  I just blogged about individuals in need of deodorant.  I most certainly CANNOT be the individual in need of deoderant in this class.

Add it to the list to get at KMart.  Which angers me..because I am fully stocked at the condo.  Good thing deodorant doesn’t expire! 😉

Got the goods and made it to class with time to spare.

I miss circuit training so much!  I love my trainer and the guys and gals in the class.  They are always so energized and we get in some good laughs while our bodies are being murdered for 2 hours (don’t worry.. it is a good murder!)

The way AJ’s classes work –

10-15 minute warm-up including (2 sets of this series today):

  • Running in place, knees high to the front
  • Two feet in, two feet out (still running)
  • Full Jacks
  • Half Jacks
  • Alternating Jacks
  • Criss-Cross Jacks
  • Side-Pendulums
  • Side-Jumps
  • Squats
  • Pulsing Sqauts
  • Squat Jumps
  • Sit-Ups
  • V-Ups
  • Push-Ups

Circuit

Today we did 3 Sets of a 12 Station Circuit – @ 60 seconds a station – Break for 1 min between sets

  • Quick toe-taps on Stepper
  • Stacked steps -1 leg at a time with 15 lb dumbells in each hand
  • Lunges with foot on bench; 15 lb dumbbells in each hand
  • High Knees to the front with bosu ball over head
  • Oblique Twists over a punching bag
  • Bent Knee Dead Lifts
  • Hamstring Curls
  • Back Extensions
  • Straight Leg Dead Lift
  • Squats – Ball on Wall
  • Ladder
  • Hop-Overs; Bosu Ball

(Clearly  I am not a trainer – and I name these exercises the way they look to me in my head – one goal I have for my blog is to demonstrate via youtube or give credit to other individuals who have through links… a work in progress though)

Another Warm-up

Today, it including a lot of jumping jacks.. and urban rebounding moves – but on the floor and not on the trampoline

2nd Circuit

Normally, we will do a new set of exercises, but because there weren’t very many people there, we had the same circuit.  I switching up a lot of my moves in the last circuit – using the same equipment – but working different muscles.

Then we do a nice lil cool down and stretch! I borrowed a roller and rolled out my IT bands and glutes as well. Extremely tight!

It felt soo good to be back with AJ!  He is the man who showed me how lifting weights could drastically change my appearance – and he also really motivated me to eat more natural foods!

Heart rate Stats for todays Workout:

Average HR:  147 BPM

Maximum HR:  197 BPM

I am super impressed with these stats!

I stopped on the way home and treated myself to some Dunkin’!

You know you love my post-workout prettiness!

I usually just brew coffee at home to save dollas!

And spent the rest of the day fooling around in the kitchen..making muffins of course!

Until it was time for this lovely salad monster for dinner!

In the mix tonight:

  • Romaine lettuce
  • Shredded carrots
  • Cucumber
  • Green Peppers
  • Tomato
  • Pear Slices (ripened to perfection)
  • Sunflower Seeds
  • Olde Cape Cod Wasabi Soy and Ginger Dressing (YuM!.. love this brand!)


Questions for today:

Do you find that you sleep better if you go to your childhood house (if you don’t live there now)?

What is your favorite type of workout?

22 responses to “Raindrops keep fallin’ on my head..

  1. NOT UH! Just had to clarify since i LIVE in that rainy place. Today was probably the most gorgeous days I have ever seen anywhere. Honestly. It was beyond gorgeous!
    So don’t pull that rainy Seattle card today! 😉

    • Hahaha sorry girl! It is the best stereotype I could think of! I am glad you got to enjoy such a gorgeous day! I guess you deserve gorgeous days since it rains so often.

      Btw..is that totally true… or is Seattle made out to be more rainy then it really is?! hah

  2. That class sounds awesome! And your salad looks delicious, so bright and colorful!

  3. I LOVE that you just ran out to buy supplies! I’m guilty of that ALL the time. This Friday I was running errands in workout clothes, got invited to dinner, and stopped by Banana to buy a dress to wear on my way there. 🙂

  4. indecisiveathlete

    That sounds like a great workout! and Getting coffee out and not having to make it is my favorite thing altho last time I wanted to do that I didn’t have my wallet with me…(I promise I don’t normally drive illegally!)

  5. What an awesome workout girl!!! 😀 Haha, no worries — I like to call exercises by they way they look too! 🙂

  6. I have definitely bought deodorant in a pinch, haha! I’ve also turned my car around and driven back home when I’m on my way somewhere and realized I forgot to put it on 🙂

    • I’ve turned around too. Then for a while I kept some in my center console too! That was probably the best plan. I think I took it out because I ran out indoors. hahah

  7. Wasabi Soy and Ginger Dressing… I’m going to have to be on the search for that it sounds delicious.
    I’m always forgetting deodorant. I’ have a stock pile of it at home since I’m always having to buy some spur of the moment.

  8. I find it difficult to sleep no matter where I am…although sometimes a change of environment helps, whether it’s from home to somewhere else or from somewhere else back to home. I think this is due to the association between the place and sleeping/not sleeping.

    Running is my favourite type of workout, although I’m so impressed by your circuit class. It looks unbelievably tough!

    xxx

    • I totally agree with the association thing! In college I went though A real rough patch of insomnia. Was on meds and everything. I didn’t want to become dependent on them obvi. I made some changes – I really only use my bedroom to sleep. I rarely will watch TV … and if I do it is during the day. I used to sleep with my TV on.. HUGE distraction!
      I try and log off of computers and everything an hour or so before I plan onsleeping.
      If i do have trouble, I sit in child’s pose in my bed for like 5 mintues.. and I can easily drift away!

  9. LOLOL!!! I have done the saaaaaaaaaaame thing before (both the sports bra and the deoderatant!) However, unlike you… i skipped the workout when i forgot the sports bra. And went through with the workout when i forgot the deoderants…sans deoderant! Whoops! Guess i’m one of those people your PSA was targeting 😛 hehehe

  10. great workout! this song was actually playing at the grocery store when I was there this morning lol

  11. Pingback: WINNING | beyondbananas

Leave a Reply

