Chicken Paella


Earlier in the week, Justin and I had one of my favorite dinners – easy chicken paella! It is delicious- has the right amount of spice to it.  Instead of including shell-fish, this recipe calls for only chicken – to please all the seafood haters of the world (cough, JUSTIN, cough).

I never had Paella – the real kind – until I was in high school – as one of my best friends is Puerto Rican – and let me tell you.. her mother’s paella is out of this world!

This version – is rather different.. but it is also totally healthy!  Each serving has under 300 calories and less then 6g of fat!

Chicken Paella

Serves 6 (We cut it in half, since there is only 2 of us, but here is what you would need for 6!)

Ingredients:

      

  • 1 1/4 lb chicken
  • 1 tbsp EVOO
  • 1/2 cup chopped onion
  • 2 cloves minced garlic
  • 1 1/4 c. water
  • 1  c. low sodium chicken broth
  • 1 c. long grain rice
  • 1 tsp dried oregano
  • 1/2 tsp. paprika
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/4 tsp pepper
  • 14.5 ounces stewed tomatos (reduced sodium)
  • 1 sweet red pepper, stripes
  • 3/4 cup frozen peas

Preperation

  • Rinse chicken; pat dry with paper towels.  Cut chicken into bite size strips.  Heat EVOO in a skillet and cook the strips 2-3 minutes or until no longer pink.  Remove chicken from skillet and set aside.


  • Add onion and garlic to the skillet; cook until tender.  Add water, broth, and uncooked rice.  Add oregano, paprika, salt, pepper.  Bring to a boil.  Reduce heat.  Simmer, covered, for 25 minutes.


  • Add undrained tomatoes, sweet pepper, and frozen peas to the skillet.  Cover and simmer for 10 more minutes or until rice is fully cooked.


  • Stir in cooked chicken until heated through.

Enjoy!

*** This recipe was adapted from Better Homes & Gardens***
19 responses to “Chicken Paella

  1. I have just commented under you on about 5 blogs in the last hour….I HAD to say hi after all that 🙂

  2. I’ve wanted to try my hand at paella for so long. This maybe be the final straw. 🙂 It looks soooo good!

  3. This looks so simple and easy… btu super tasty! I havent had paella in far too long!

  4. This looks awesome. I can’t wait to try making it!

  5. That looks seriously delicious! If I knew how to tag it for later I would.

    Oh. just emailed it to myself. score!

  6. Yum! This looks great ~ it’s a dish my dad & hubby would LOVE! We were in Mexico in the Fall and they made a huge pot of paella everyday at lunch and it was a huge hit with out crowd! I’ve never had it, but I’m thinking I just might have to change that 🙂

  7. I love paella’s, I’m Cuban so my family makes it pretty frequently. I don’t like the seafood ones since it’s super filled with things I don’t normal eat but I love the chicken ones 😀

  8. That looks great-thanks for the recipe!

  9. Looks delicious!! My mom used to make something like this when I was younger and it was sooo good! Thanks for sharing!

  10. This looks amazing — I definitely want to try it when I get back home to our apartment! I love your step-by-step instructions, too. It’s always nice for visual people like me to see how everything works. I’ll let you know how it turns out when I make it!! xoxo

  11. Wow this looks awesome Caitlin!!

  12. I’ve never made (or had) paella, but I’ve never thought about making it with chicken – looks yummy!

  13. paella is one of my favorite things -this looks great!

Leave a Reply

