Egg White Souffle Dinner Cakes – For 1

We all have those nights… regardless of whether we live with a roommate, a significant other, our parents, siblings.. where we are on our own for dinner.

In all honesty – these are some of my favorite nights – when I get to do my own thing – and can eat things that I like – and it doesn’t necessarily have to appeal to the tastebuds of the above mentioned individuals.

What can be difficult though – is making a dinner – with a single portion (or close to it)

Don’t get me wrong – I LOVE leftovers.  But 3-5 servings of leftovers can be a little much.

With many recipes, I also don’t feel like putting in all the work of making a full fledged meal.. for just me.. the one and only.

However, the Egg White Souffle Dinner Cake that I am about to show you – is an exception.  To be quite honest – I enjoy making it just for one person – and probably would not be a fan of making  more servings.

These “cakes” are a great texture.  Below, I’ve chose my own add-ins – but you can really through in anything you like!  Different veggies, cheeses.. even a protein if the eggs don’t do enough for ya!

Egg White Souffle Dinner Cakes for One

Ingredients

  • 3 Egg Whites
  • 1 cup fresh spinach, chopped
  • 3 tbps chopped onions
  • 4 stewed tomato halves (leftover from my Paella)
  • Dash of Garlic Powder
  • Dash of Pepper
  • Dash of Chili Powder

Preparation

  • Preheat Oven to 365* (I like weird numbers)
  • Cook up your spinach in a small skillet – using a dash of oil if you would like.  Cook until the spinach has dramatically decreased in size.

Before Cooking...

Spinach Shrinkage

  • Add onions and tomatoes to spinach – and cook for 2-3 more minutes. Remove from heat.


  • Separate your egg whites and put them into a bowl. Add garlic powder, pepper, and chili powder


  • Using a hand mixer, beat your eggs whites until they are fluffy.

The will go from this…

To this.. In about 5-6 minutes of consistent beating.

When your whites have reached their optimal consistency, you should be able to make peaks when you remove the mixing blades.. like so:

  • Fold in your veggies


  • SPRAY A MUFFIN PAN WITH NON-STICK… (Super duper important that you do this adequately!)
  • Spoon mixture into 3-6 muffins – depending on the size that you would like your little cakes.


  • Bake for 13-15 minutes – until tops are nice a browned

It is amazing how much food you can create from 3 little egg whites!  They become so voluminous through the beating!

This meal is pretty quick and easy – and it doesn’t require a whole lot of ingredients.  Basically – if you have egg whites and random veggies/cheeses – you are all set!

19 responses to “Egg White Souffle Dinner Cakes – For 1

  1. As soon as I get to my parents I am making these!!!! They look ahhmazing

    Bookmarked 🙂

  2. These look so simple and yummy… I’d probably eat them all in one sitting though!

    • There is nothing wrong with that! That is what I did for a full meal! 3 egg whites and veggies is really all that it is! They just gain so much volume through the whipping!

  3. Oh man, thanks for this. Dinner tonight? Yes please!

  4. YUM! I was thinking these were going to be similar to my “Eggfins,” but I never considered whipping the egg. You could make a full-on casserole with 4 egg whites!

  5. oooo looks delish!! have a good weekend 🙂

  6. I love how you whipped the egg whites to make them SO fluffy!!! I love it! 😀

  7. indecisiveathlete

    Those sound SO good I’m probably going to be making those asap!

  8. Those look awesome and really creative! I think cooking for two will be one of the biggest adjustments for me whenever Michael movies in. I’m so used to doing my own thing, it’ll be so strange!

  9. Those little souffles look so delicious and fluffy 😀

  10. Mmm egg white souffle’s are perfect for those awesome ‘lonely’ dinner nights 🙂 you are so creative!!

  11. Honestly I didnt know what a soufle was until I read this post! WOW! I want!!!! I was on my own for dinner tonite and I had a veggie dog…Where was this post 2 hours ago!

  12. I can’t wait to try these out! I’m on my own quite often for dinner and we don’t like tons leftover for days and days of repetitive eating either. Thanks for the idea! You Rock 🙂

  13. Pingback: Heaven in the form of… | beyondbananas

  14. Pingback: Souffle Pizza & Possible Bake Sale?! | Beyond Bananas

  15. I’m so glad I just found your blog (and this amazing recipe)! I’m so going to make this soon. I’ll be sure to let ya know when I do!!! Thanks.

Leave a Reply

