When you are a teacher…

When you are a teacher… and the seasons change- you might just get to watch the sunrise every morning as you drive to work.

When you are a teacher… you may go to school on a Friday looking like this:

High Five For Friday! 🙂

And you may leave school looking like this:

How'd That Happen?!

It is not easy to turn down a role in a pep rally.  I teach at a charter school – and while it is still considered to be a public school – we only receive 75% of the state funding that students at regular public school receives.

It is the responsiblity of the school to somehow make up the difference.  This can be done through donations, special events, and more.  Earlier in the year, Aaron and Charles Neville did a benefit for our school to raise money.  They also came and visited the students. They thought it was pretty cool.

Today, we had a pep rally for our upcoming event – a 2 mile walk/run!  I am on the event committee – and our goal is to have all students participate!  In order to participate, they must find sponsors and raise a total of $25 each!  It was my job today to get the students pumped up and eager to participate! Hence my new costume!

When you are a teacher, your students may call you Bugs Bunny when you eat a bag of carrots like this every day!

When you are a teacher, and your students complete the asburdly large packet of math homework that you  sent home over April Vacation (yes I am that cruel teacher that you probably hated in elementary school), you can reward them with this:

And then it won’t seem so bad after all.  Didn’t you know that popsicles cure everything when you are in 2nd grade?!

When you are a teacher, and it is Friday – there is no better way to unwind from the week by attending a relaxing yoga class.

When you are a teacher (okay, okay.. when you are a human) and your boyfriend has a much larger appetite, you may have very a different portioned dinner.

Exhibit A:

Homemade Calzones for Dinner

Note the difference in size.

Fillings for Cait’s Calzone: Spinach, Cherry Tomatoes, 2 tbs Ricotta Cheese

The Smiling Calzone

Fillings for Justin’s Calzone: Bacon, Ham, An unmeasured quantity of Ricotta Cheese, an unmeasured quantity of mozzarella cheese.

When you are a teacher, you can do nothing but laugh has you watch you boyfriend use about 1 cup of flour to prevent the dough sticking to the roller…turning the crust just about all white.

It is totally the taste that matters, so as a teacher, I am totally content on this Friday night!

Hope you all have an AWESOME weekend!  I am getting PUMPED for my race on Sunday.  Before Yoga, I ran a mile and had no pain in my achilles (knock on wood). WOOT WOOT! I think I just needed to rest it a little.

Tomorrow, I will be picking up my things for the race – and perhaps exploring a local park, weather permitting.

Any plans for your weekend?

xoxo

18 responses to “When you are a teacher…

  1. Such a fun post! I so admire teachers, you all work so hard 🙂

    I love your calzones they are one of my favorite meals, I roll with the veggie ricotta mix as well. Your husband it too funny!

    Good luck with your race, I’ll be racing too so I’ll be sending you speedy wishes! 🙂

  2. indecisiveathlete

    Love this post 🙂
    Yay!!! for no achilles pain!

    You have such good dinner ideas I love it that is something I really need to work on.

    Good luck in your race this weekend!

  3. This is too cute!!! Love the size difference in the calzones lol

  4. ah this post totally makes me want to be a teacher! they really truly are amazing people!! and your calzone looks DELISH

  5. immobilizedwoman

    Those calzones look amazing btw.
    That’s awesome that you work at a charter school. How long have you been a teacher?

    • This is my first year..so it has been overwhelming, but I love it! I have always wanted to have an opportunity to close the achievement gap and work in an urban area. I feel like charter schools provide me with the best opportunity to do so! You are going to be a teacher too, correct? It is a fab career 🙂

  6. I am going to be thinking of you tomorrow girl! Rock out that race, k?!!

    Love this post, so cute! I am loving the homemade calzones! They look amazing!

    I love that we both think alike ; ) F21 and Target , oh yeah!

    Happy Saturday!

    xoxo ❤

  7. I love those calzones. That pretty much sums up the way my house operates as well!! Good luck for your race – you’re going to do awesome!

  8. CALZONES! Looks great! I make my own pizza, but I haven’t considered calzones.

  9. lifeisbeachykeen

    ooooo, those calzones look delish! I have pizza dough rising right now, I never thought to make calzones! Maybe next weekend, I’m craving some pizza!

    I had plans to go to the beach today but that didn’t happen. I went to a garage sale bc they said they had a bike..fail. .. I went to a farmers market to get some veggies now I’m looking at my house thinking i need to clean but I don’t want to.

  10. I didn’t know you were a teacher! Judging from the outfits, is it for elementary school kids? I always thought that would be such a fun career. I have so many fond memories of elementary school so being there everyday and knowing those kids will remember those days for the rest of their lives would be very rewarding.

    • Yes! I teach 2nd grade – my first year! I love it! It can be stressful, overwhelming.. etc.. but it is so worth it at the end of every day! I hope my kids have only the fondest memories of second grade!

  11. So far my weekend has been super lazy, so I am appreciating that. Tomorrow’s plans are some sort of sweat sesh (mountain biking, maybe?) and tackling the last bit of to-do list!

  12. Haha.. this is a fun post.
    Teachers get all my support. I don’t know how you guys do it all year 🙂

  13. Cute post 🙂 Popsicles cure EVERYTHING ;)!

  14. Pingback: Heaven in the form of… | beyondbananas

Leave a Reply

