Raced through this week!

Here we are again – another Sunday – another Weekly Workout Wrap-Up –

This week was very different from last week – as I was tapering down my mileage in preparation for my 10K that I ran earlier today.  Add in the achilles tightness – and I found myself having a pretty low-key week!

Let’s get to this week’s run down:

  • Monday: 3.5  mile run, strength training
  • Tuesday: 4.0 mile run
  • Wednesday: 2.5 mile run, ab work & strength
  • Thursday: 25 min elliptical, 1 mile run, strength training
  • Friday: 1 mile run, 60 min. Yoga
  • Saturday: 1 hour hike (about 3.5 miles)
  • Sunday: 10 K! (6.2 miles) Check out my race recap! –1.5 mile walk around town

Total Miles Ran: 18.2 miles(run) 5.0 miles (walk) 23.2 miles total

How I felt this week: After a week with no obligations, I had to return to work on Tuesday.  With that being said, I was a little bit more tired then usual – as I had to readjust to getting to bed early and actually doing something all day long. In addition to that, you may remember that I was having difficulty with a tight achilles tendon.  I was extremly proud of myself for how I handled this situation though.

You see, I am the type of person who will ignore my body. (I know..tisk tisk!). I just push and push and push.. and then usually face even more of a set back.  I am really trying hard to listen to my body and take rest days when I need to – or lighten up my training load if I feel it necessary.

And that is just what I did. After hobbling around school all day on Tuesday – and still feeling the same pains on Wednesday – I abandoned my training plan. .. which to me, kind of feels like breaking the law!

I still ran or corss trained, but I took it easy. And my body said,

“Thank you, Cait.  You finally listned to me. I am going to reward you by loosening that achilles tendon. Have a great race on Sunday!”

Did I do what I had planned to do?

Well, as planned, my mileage decreased.

I went to yoga on Friday. It felt amazing once again. It was a different instructor this time – and I really liked her. She was very interactive – was making sure everyone had their poses correctly, made adjustments, etc.  I am happy that this is the time slot that fits into my schedule.

I strength trained more then I thought I would be able to since I strayed from the training plan – getting some sort of sort of strength training in 3 times this week! Were they the best strength training sessions I’ve ever day – ABSOLUTELY NOT – but hey, it is something

What I would like to see next week:

  • Strength Train 3x – at least 30 minute sessions

Source

  • Take a cardio kick-boxing class at the gym

Source

  • Go for a long run outside

Source

  • Continue with 1 Yoga session on Friday afternoon
  • Hydrate more – it is getting warm – and I need those fluids
  • Sign up for another race 🙂 – I think I’ve got the racing bug! 🙂

By the way – the OFFICIAL results have been posted for the race!

I finished 8th in my age group! I am bubbling!  I know it says 6th down there – but it doesn’t include the top finishers (including my girl Nikki!.. 3rd place for her.. 2nd in the age group!)

I was in a dead sprint at the end to beat this other chick.. we had been going back and forth all race.  I had to get in front of her.  Apparently she was not in my age group! In fact, she was 50. I hope to still be running like this when I am 50!

How were your workouts this week?  Did you accomplish any goals you had set yourself?  Do you set goals for your weekly workouts?
I am totally loving setting goals right now. It really keeps my mind focused and my eye on the prize.  What is even better – is that I am actually writing down these goals, so I feel that I am held accountable for trying to achieve them! I am looking forward to continuing this goal setting – and am going to eventually extend this into setting life goals! 🙂
11 responses to “Raced through this week!

  1. Congrats again!! the racing bug is addictive -watch out 😉 haha

  2. Congrats girl!!!

    I have always wanted to take a kickboxing class!!! That sound like so much fun!! I hope you do it!! 😀

  3. You OWNED that race – congrats!!!!

  4. Congratulations!!! That’s awesome! I am so glad that your achilles recovered so that you could race! Yey!

    So great also that you listened to your body, great example to set. I am beginning to get back into setting goals and achieved my first with my race yesterday so I am excited. I am going to rest up this week and then (when we know where we will be living) I’ll set another concrete racing goal. 🙂

  5. Another great week of training in the books!

    Last week was okay for me regarding working out. I got in a few strength work outs. I did 20 push-ups, so that’s exciting. I’m hoping today I will get back to running. We’ll see. I’m very anxious about my run this afternoon. I think i’m going to go sans garmin so I can just concentrate on how I feel rather than focusing on how slow I’m going. Ugh. time will tell.

    Great job on listening to your body when you really needed to. It can be such a pain in the butt sometimes.. Hello only 17 miles in April.

  6. My workouts this week were a little lower-key than they have been (meaning I actually took rest days, hah) because my IT band (I think) has been bothering me. I really struggled with taking the break, but I think it’s been good for me!

  7. Pingback: Holes | beyondbananas

Leave a Reply

