WYWL 10K Race Recap

I did it!

I ran my first race!

It was even better then I hoped it would be!

But, before we get to the deets of the race –  I want to thank all of you for your well wishes. Each and every one of them brought a big smile to my face – and I was remembering you all through out my race – when I was getting a little tired – or the hill in front I was about to climb looked a little big – I had some motivation in my back pocket.

Let’s back track to last night.

For dinner, I chomped on a turkey burger with some sweet potato rounds.

Mmm, Mmm Good.

Got my gear ready to go.

Relaxed, watched Inception – and got to bed at around 10:45.

Had my alarm set for 6:30 – but being the early bird that I am – I was up at 6 and was able to relax, watch the news and eat my pre-race breakfast.

Two pieces of ezekiel sesame toast topped with a little honey, a banana, and cinnimon.

Justin and I left for the race at around 7:30.  The line to get into the parking lot was a little out of control.  The best part of having someone else drive to the race, is that I was able to get out of the car and walk – beginning my warm-up.  I also had to pick up  my girl Nikki’s racing bib because she thought the race was at 9 (but it was scheduled to begin at 8:40).

After walking for a good 10 minutes, I met up with Justin – gave him Nikki’s stuff (snapped some blog photos) – and went for a 7 or 8  minute jog.

Struggling with the iPod

Perfect Day for a Race!

Time to hit up the bathroom. Well – the line for the ladies room had about 45 women in it – and I was in NO mood to wait in that line.  I mean.. I had enough time to do it, but that doesn’t mean I wanted to.

I saw some girls in line for the men’s room – and was all about that idea.  I was outta there in 5 minutes.  =) I have no shame.

Nikki arrived with about 15 minutes to spare.  This girl does not not need to warm up – I mean.. check out those legs! She is a speed demon – and has always been a runner. I knew we would chat at the start – (which we did.. catching up on our lives) .. and then I would see her at the finish.

That is exactly what happened! 🙂

While we were chatting, my professional photographer, Justin, snapped some shots of everything that was going on.

5K Race

And then we have the starting gun…

And we were off!

Pure adrenaline. Let me tell you.  I kept glancing down at my Garmin thinking…”You’ve GOT to slow down, Caitlin, you are never going to make the whole race at this pace!”

I kept seeing paces between 7:00 and 7:50. But I went with it. Why? Because I hated it when people passed me.  Silly – I know. But I am competitive.

Miles 1 and 2 were awesome. I got water at the first water station and tried to drink it while running. FAIL.

At the end of mile 3, there was the “hill” of the race.  It wasn’t that big of a hill – nothing like I ran last weekend .. but it was a hill – and it was half way through the race..a little bit of a drag..

Until my iPod decided it WAS not going to let me drag my feet up this hill.   My shuffled “Runner” playlist englightened me with “Hollaback Girl” by Gwen Stefani. I mean.. how could I not get pumped up when a song.. that mentions BANANAS – comes on!.  I got a little hop in my step, pushed up the hill, tried to drink water while running and failed for the second time..  and was on my merry way.  It was also at this time when I was thinking of you guys!

The last mile was amazing. Why?  Because of the scenery. (and because I finally got a sip of water..because I stopped for a second). I WISH I had my camera. On one side of me I had a picturesque view of the sound – beautiful sand and sun (remember.. beautiful is relevant to Long Island Sound beautiful.. it isn’t the prettiest of beaches…) and on the other side were peach and yellow colored tulips.  The beauty motivated me to finish strong! (And the little girl on the side of the road with a cardboard sign that said “Almost Done!”)

Finishing was awesome – with all of the people lined up, cheering for you!

Justin snapped an amazing picture of me crossing the finish line ( what a fab photographer!)

And he also snapped an “unofficial time” of 47:18. Holy smokes! I am more then pleased with this time. I am still waiting on my official time – but I don’t think it will be too far off from that.  Let me break down my miles for you according to Garmie:

  • Mile 1: 7:26
  • Mile 2: 7:33 (adrenaline is wearing..)
  • Mile 3: 7:35
  • Mile 4:  7:50 (hilliest portion of the race)
  • Mile 5: 7:44 (getting my groove back)
  • Mile 6:  7:20 (fo real!?)
  • Last .28: 1:54 (6:47/mi)
  • AVERAGE: 7:33/mi

I will say that I forgot to “stop” Garmie when I crossed the line and was chatting for a a few before doing it – so times may be off.. in a good way!

Oh, by the way.. Nikki – yea she was the third female finisher. This girl is amazing! Unfortunately, Justin and I were not able to hang around for the award ceremony..but I am so happy for her! She is a fantastic runner – she finished just under 45 minutes. I am pretty pumped that I was about 2:30 behind her. Not too shabby =)

Bag Lady?

The man behind the camera!

Before heading out, though, I took advantage of all the goodies they were handing out and noshed on an apple and an orange quarter.  They were handing out this water – H-10-o

  

I got the peach mango flavor – and I am usually not a fan of these types of drinks, but I have to say, it really hit the spot.  It is designed specifically for the hydration of women.

All in all, I had a blast and am SO happy with my time. Although I did not post any goals – I did have some in my mind. My “realistic” goal was to finish with a pace of less then 8:20/mi. My “pushing it” goal was to finish under 8:00/mi. But 7:33 – I never even imagined I would come even close to that.

Best part of the post-race gathering.. LOTS of flyers about upcoming races in the area! Woot woot!

Again, thank you all for you support! You helped me run fast – and run hard!

Enjoy your Sunday!

xoxo

 

25 responses to “WYWL 10K Race Recap

  1. CONGRATULATIONS!!! Now you’ll have the racing bug 🙂 You kicked some serious butt!!!! Now go celebrate!

  2. Congrats! You did awesome.

  3. CONgrats! Nice time, girl 🙂

  4. GREAT recap, great race, and great time! 🙂

  5. Congratulations!!!! Your time is amazing you should be so proud what a great first race! 🙂

  6. immobilizedwoman

    That’s awesome that you finished at 7:33. What an accomplishment! 🙂

  7. Congratulations!!!! First races are always so exciting (as are all..but the first sets the bar!) AWESOME time, too! You were flying!!!

  8. indecisiveathlete

    Congrats!!! That is an awesome time for a first 10k! It sounds like it was a very good one too.

  9. Yay!!! Excellent race time!

  10. Congrats on your first race!! 😀

  11. Congrats! That is fantastic! That was fantastic for a 10k 🙂

    Starting today, participants are joining me in trying to walk/run as much as we can in the next month for my 100 Miles in May Challenge. If you’re interested in joining, come by for more info: http://smallhomebigstart.blogspot.com/2011/05/100-miles-in-may-challenge-begins.html

  12. Congrats on finishing your first race…and super fast too! I just ran my first race and it definitely got me hooked. My big running goal is to eventually do a half-marathon. Can’t wait to see more race updates in the future!

  13. Pingback: Raced through this week! | beyondbananas

  14. Congratulations on your 10 K!!!! It sounds like so much fun! 🙂

  15. oh my goodness! awesome job!!!

  16. What a fantastic first race! It looks like a beautiful place to run too! Congrats 🙂

  17. Wow Caitlin – congratulations on your first race! You are a speed demon!!!

Leave a Reply

