Cheesy Chicken Rollatini with Spinach

I have an amazing recipe to share with you on this bright Tuesday morning in May.

Seriously. You might want to bookmark this page now.

Because this is that good.

In Justin’s words… “This isn’t good. ย This is amazing. This is a meal you should make when parents come over for dinner.”

Now, I must give credit where credit should be given. ย This to.die.for. recipe is lightly adapted from Gina @ Skinny Taste.

You might also want to head on over to her page and subscribe.. because she is a mastermind when it comes to recipes. Go!

Cheesy Chicken Rollatini with Spinach

Serves 3 (or 2 – if you have a manly man like Justin in the house who must have 2 rolls ๐Ÿ˜‰ )

Ingredients

ย ย  ย ย 

  • 3 chicken breasts, thin
  • 3/4 cup frozen spinach, drained of liquid
  • 2 1/2 tbsp skim ricotta cheese
  • 1 tbsp parmesean cheese
  • Part Skim Mozzarella cheese – amount can vary depending on your liking
  • 1/4 c. whole wheat seasoned bread crumbs
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp pepper
  • 2 egg whites
  • Marinara sauce (I used store bought because I’ve never made sauce before – but you can obvi use homemade)

Preperation

  • Preheat Oven to 450* and coat a baking pan with non-stick cooking spray
  • Clean chicken and pat dry.
  • In a small bowl, combine the drained spinach, ricotta, 1/2 tbsp of parmesean, and about 1.5 tbsp of mozzarella (diced)

This is about how much mozz I used:

When I diced it, it became this:

Set this mixture aside.

  • Combine breadcrumbs, remaining parmesan cheese, salt, and pepper in a small bowl. ย Put the egg whites in another bowl.

  • Spread a thin layer of your cheese mixture on your chicken breasts.

  • Roll the breast.
  • Dunk into the egg whites – and then roll in the bread crumb mixture.

ย 

  • Place roll in the baking pan seem side down.

ย 

  • Bake in the oven for 25 minutes.
  • Remove and top with marinara sauce and a slice of mozzarella cheese.

  • Return to over for about 5 minutes – until the cheese appears to have melted.

  • Enjoy this ridiculously amazing meal.

Tonight, Justin and I paired this chicken dish with some steamed carrots. Yes. I know. ย Not really a great pair. BUT, I love carrots…so don’t judge. It is just how I roll.

Streaming veggies is my favorite way of preparing them. ย But I don’t have a steamer. Problem? No way. This is also how I roll:

Sauce pan, colander, and a lid to a larger pan ๐Ÿ™‚

Seriously – try this recipe. It looks like it was something difficult… but it was so easy!

Chicken Rollatini on Foodista

24 responses to “Cheesy Chicken Rollatini with Spinach

  1. yummy! this looks delicious. it’s a good way to “hide” some spinach from my bf in a meal ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. These look great… too bad I don’t eat chicken. Will keep this recipe in mind for the family though ๐Ÿ˜‰

  3. Wow, you’re right that DOES sound delicious…and no judgment on the carrots, because you’re right, they are good. And you know what…do whatever you need to do to steam them. I don’t have a fine strainer for rinsing quinoa so I just put a coffee filter in my larger strainer and rinse the quinoa on that. It’s all about making your own things ๐Ÿ˜‰

  4. Delicious. I like your recipe better.I followed you from the foodie blog roll and I’d love to guide Foodista readers to your site. I hope you could add this Chicken Rollatini widget at the end of this post so we could add you in our list of food bloggers who blogged about chicken rollatini,Thanks!

  5. Looks awesome!!!!! I’m going to have to try this one for sure ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. I’m not usually a fan of chicken but this dish sounds like a bunch of tastey goodness rolled up into one… (Corny joke for the day done.) ๐Ÿ˜‰

  7. That looks so damn good girl! Ha! I want some!

    Hope your day is great! xoxo

  8. Woo hoo! It IS a meal worthy of parents, you are such a chef ;)!!

  9. Omg this look amazing. Nothing better than chicken and cheese covered in breadcrumbs ๐Ÿ˜‰

  10. Holy crap….totally gonna make this tomorrow

  11. I love gorgeous meals that aren’t as complex as they look. I’m adding this to my list ASAP!

  12. That’s a really good way to steam veggies! I don’t have a steamer either, so I’ve never steamed them, but I’ll have to try your way ๐Ÿ™‚

  13. I love chicken roll-ups and this looks amazing! The ingredients will definitely be on my shopping list for this weekend!

  14. wow-looks great! I love chicken and spinach–SOO good ๐Ÿ™‚

  15. YUM!! Just found your blog for the first time, love it!

  16. Pingback: Advice Needed! | beyondbananas

Leave a Reply

