The truth is out there…

It is indeed – in fact.. it is right here on this post.

I loved seeing what your guesses were to my Fact and Fiction post.   IF you have NOT guessed yet… STOP reading, CLICK THIS LINK, take a gander and guess! You know a little game here and there is always lots of fun!

I was up and at at at 6:30 this morning. (sigh).  Sometimes, I just want to sleep in.  But that the same time, I feel like I always have so much more time to do things during the day since I am up earlier then the average human being!

No overnight oats today.

But obviously I had oats. Come on now. If you are a regular reader of this blog, you know I oat-it-out on a daily basis 🙂

Today, they were just WARM! There is a chill in the air – and I didn’t feel like prepping them last night.

I mixed it up today.. never had this variation.. but I must say I am not hatin!

Apple n’ Cinnamon Oats


  • 1/2 c. oats
  • 3/4 c. water
  • 1/2 c. unsweetened almond milk
  • 1 small sliced banana (couldn’t for go it.. but you can if you want!)
  • 1/2 sliced apple
  • 1 tbsp natural (unsweetened) apple sauce
  • 1/2 tbsp cinnamon. ( I LOVE CINNAMON!)

Combine all ingredients in a pot.  Heat on med-high until mixture boils.  Then, simmer, covered, until oats reach desired consistency.

I used more liquid then regular oats call for, but I wanted to play with the volume – seeing if I could mimic the amount of oats I get from Overnights.. in a hot, morning version.

The verdict:

Yes indeedy – Tahiti! Okay – well not quite is voluminous.. but I really wanted to say indeedy-Tahihit!

Enjoyed with a lovely cup o coffee!

Okay.. on to the good stuff.

So, you read my 5 “Facts” Now it is time to review.. and tell you which ones are fiction 🙂

  •  I had an original plan of going into nursing. I took all the nursing pre-requisites during my freshman year..and just as I was beginning my sophomore year – I decided it was NOT for me. To graduate on time, I had to take bunches of classes for 2 summers to get the credits I needed for my psych degree.

This is FICTION! Nursing was never my thing. I knew I wanted to be a psych major when I was a senior in high school (Why, I will never know) – and declared this as a major immediately!

  • When I was growing up, I decided I did not want bangs anymore. As any 4 year old with do, I went into a closet and took some scissors.. and snipped them all off. I was surprised when anyone noticed a difference.

This one.. is a FACT. My best friend didn’t have bangs… and I was all about doing everything she did (I even wanted to change my name is Ashley). So, while on vacation, I went into the closet and snipped them off.  Try as I may, I could NOT find any pictures of this awkward hair stage of my life.  Good news is – they were back before school started!

  • I have called Triple A from the side of a poorly lit highway because of a flat tired.  When help arrived, I was told I had no flat tire.

As embarassing as this is.. this is total FACT.  It actually happened this winter.  I had been telling my parents that Justin’s dad said I would need new tires in the summer – and I was upset about this because tires are expensive. I  Justin had just put air in my tires.. and found it super strange that MY TIRE PRESSURE LIGHT came on. I just put air in them. Something wasn’t right.  Enter – a truck smelling like burning rubber. I pulled over immediately.. called Justin blaming him (since he had just put air in my tires.. so obvi it is his fault).. called my mother hysterically crying.. and called AAA.

In my defense, I have driven for long periods of time.. on the rim of my car.. because a tire was flat and I was too dumb to realize it. So I wanted to be safe. AAA arrive.. and said..nope. no flat tire. WIN! (NOT!)

  • I was the nerdy kid with the big thick glasses all through elementary school. Most people don’t see changes in their vision until middle school.. but I had the gift of glasses right from first grade.  HELLO 4 EYES!
This is the other FICTION piece of information. Do I have glasses now? Yes.. but I did not get them until I was a junior in high school. I think I ruined my eye sight by trying to see if people left me any messages on AIM from my bed…when my desktop was across the room.  The reason I went to the doctor.. is because the hoop became blurry in basketball.
I did however.. want glasses.. and braces.. when I was a kid. I wore fake glasses from Claires sometimes.. and also used paper clip retainers. Until I got real glasses.. and real braces.

Meaning.. our last tid bit, while unfortunate.. is FACT

  • I once had parvo-virus. I woke up in the middle of the night and could not move. I screamed until someone heard me – was taken to the hospital – and placed on a morphine drip.

I did indeed have parvo-virus the summer before my senior year of high school.  It is a virus that attacked my joints.. making them very inflammed – leading to my difficulty moving at all.  It is the adult version of “Slapping Cheek Disease” found often in children. Man – did this suck.  It was painful for me to do anything for a while. But – there was nothing I could do besides taking pain meds.. and wait it out.

It was a couple of months before I felt normal again.

So.. how’d ya do?!

I know Laura @ Sprint to the Table was right on!  🙂

Now.. get out there and enjoy your weekend!!!

15 responses to “The truth is out there…

  1. I really wanted braces too! When I got them, I LOVED them and didn’t want them taken off! haha. I had to get glasses in second grade and hated them…switched to contacts in 7th.

    That is so scary about the parvo-virus–I’ve never heard of that before! Wow! Glad you are all better!

    Have a great weekend!

  2. I always want to sleep in, too, but I feel like I’m wasting the day away if I sleep in too long. Today I was up by 6.

  3. Woo hoo!!! Can I win a bowl of that delicious-looking oatmeal?! Haha 🙂

    Love the AIM mention. I was so addicted to that in HS/undergrad.

    • I KNOW! It has kind of become mute with FB and Twitter. At one point I wondered if as an adult.. I would have away messages like “Bringing the kids to soccer.” Hahah

  4. Oh goddd, I loved AIM. I actually was a 4 eyes kid (from like 18 months – on…depressing.)

    I also decided to remove my bangs at one point. I remember it clearly, and there was no reason for it…just an urge to give the front of my head a scissors-buzz cut I guess. 😀

  5. Your oats look so yummy, I’m an everyday oats person too. I love that your a psych major, that was my minor is college. Sometimes I wish it would have been my major 🙂

  6. That oatmeal looks awesome! What a yummy breakfast to wake up to.

  7. indecisiveathlete

    I feel the exact same way about sleeping in! I always want to but from the first time I wake up my brain starts racing so frustrating sometimes! Love the “indeedy-tahiti” haha

    I got 2 of the 3 I guessed right woohoo!

  8. Wow! I would have never guessed you had that virus, I am glad you feel better now 🙂

    The oats look delish as well as the coffee, Mmmmm!

  9. lifeisbeachykeen

    OMG. I’m so glad I’m not the only nerd that wore a paper clip as a retainer. What in the world was wrong with my head? I have fillings and the metal always hurt my teeth if the metal clip touch my fillings… annd there is the weirdest fact about me ever. Ha.

    • HAHAh Wow. I had the same problem. I did not deter me from doing though. Seriously..let us think of where those paper clips may have been before we decided to put them in our mouths. Come on now!

  10. Pingback: Pick.Me.Up | beyondbananas

Leave a Reply

