Behind every great woman…

Is the truly amazing woman who made her that way.. Her Mother!

Today – is a day where we celebrate the mother’s in our lives. For me – this is an extra special day – because this woman is not only my mother  – but my best friend, my confidant, my shoulder to cry on, my voice of reason, my support system.

She has been there through thick and thin – has understood my moments of weakness and helped to guide me through them – even when I was not the most accepting of her guidance.

She is the soothing voice at the other end of the phone line – telling me that the symptoms I just entered in to WebMD DO NOT mean that I am about to die.. and that I probably just have a cold.

My mother is the woman who put her families needs before her own – and continues to do this – to make sure that my brother, my father, and I are in the place that we need to be (not physically as we are grown – but more mentally).

A selfless individual – my mother does what it takes to see smiles on our faces, hope in our futures, and love in our hearts.  She brightens that day of each and every person she encounters through her kindness and attitude of gratitude.

Without her unconditional love, support, and inspiration through every second of the 25+ years I have been on earth, I would not nearly be as successful, happy, hardworking, and inspired as I am today.

Though I have grown up – and have moved into a place of my own – being self-reliant and independent.. I will always need my  mother.  I will always need the reassurance she gives me when life throughs me a curve ball.. those words that are always JUST RIGHT… and help me to screw my head back on straight and to get back in the game.

Without her – I wouldn’t be me. The way I see it is  –  if I can be half the woman that my mother is – then I will be ahead of a lot of other woman.  Here’s to you, Mom. I love you.

*So, I have successfully sobbed (and at points had the waterworks straight flowing) through the entirety of this post).  I can only hope that each of you is fortunate enough to share a bond as special with your mother – or female role model in your life.  Regardless of the bond you share, make sure you take the time to tell you mother just how special she is to you – and recognize that your life would be drastically different with out her*

Oh, and thanks for always letting me lick the candles on your birthday, too!


19 responses to “Behind every great woman…

  1. This post is beautiful and so thoughtful <33 awesome 🙂 Your mom sounds AMAZING!

  2. Such a sweet post. You mom sounds like a great lady. 🙂

  3. such a wonderful tribute! I cried when I wrote mine too!

    Your mom is amazing and I know that she will so enjoy your post. Happy Mother’s day to her! 🙂

  4. sufei'sworld

    this is sweet ,
    happy mother’s day to all the mommys out there 🙂

  5. Great post! Your mom sounds awesome! My mom also agrees that WedMD is not something I should be looking at! Haha! 🙂

  6. This post is absolutely BEAUTIFUL!!! My mom is so special to me — I wouldn’t be the person I am today without her. 🙂

    Happy Mother’s Day!

  7. I just stumbled onto your blog and I love it!! Your sense of humor is great and your blog posts crack me up! (not this one obviously (; this is a very nice sentimental post).

    I can’t wait to keep reading… and I take way more pictures of everything now that I have a blog so don’t feel self-conscious! (;

  8. Aww! Your mom is so sweet! This is adorable! 🙂

  9. Happy Mother’s Day to your mom!! She sounds so amazing. 🙂

  10. Happy Mother’s Day to your mommy!! 😀

  11. pawsitivelife

    What a wonderful tribute to your mom! I think my mom would kill me if I put pictures of us together when I was a kid (the 80’s) are a very unforgiving decade

  12. Happy Mother’s Day to your mom!

    I too am guilty of using WebMD to convince myself I am probably dying.

  13. Such a sweet post! I talked to my mama bear this morning and it seems like she’s having a good day! Unfortunately my gift to her is will get to her on Wednesday (oops, totes my fault for ordering a wee bit late…), but even when it comes to that, my mom is super chill and forgiving. Hooray for awesome mommies!

  14. Pingback: Pick.Me.Up | beyondbananas

Leave a Reply

