Fun Through the Years

Good Morning my peanut-butter cups! Hope the weather in your neck of the woods is supposed to be as beautiful as it is here!

It is good to know that I am not alone in enjoying VOLUMINOUS oats every single day.. and how the increased volume of the food.. makes us all feel better (even though there is pretty much the same ingredients in both!)

I am glad you are all diggin’ the back workout too!  I am actually educating myself more on the moves I do every day when I am looking to link it up! So it is an educational experience for all!

*****

Fun. We all love to have it. I mean.. life would be pretty dull if we didn’t have any fun in our lives.  But.. what exactly is fun?

According to the Merriam-Webster Dictionary, fun can be defines as

  1. What provides amusement or enjoyment
  2. A mood for finding or making amusement

Pretty simple.  But fun is different for every person.  What I consider fun – Justin may not consider fun (i.e. BLOGGING DURING MY FREE TIME). What I find fun now – might have been something I dreaded 20 years ago (i.e., visiting places of history). OMG. Am I really old enough to be able to refer to doing something 20 years ago. WOW. I am having a moment.

Okay. I have regrouped.  So – this notion of fun – and how it is so dynamic.. has made me reminisce to all of the FUN I have had in my life.. and how my perception of fun has changed over the years.

When I was just a baby.. I did not partake in usually fun activities.. like sucking a thumb or a binky. Nope. I ATE THE HEARTH. Yup. that thing that is right below the fire place.  That is what I chewed on. That is what I found fun!

Now.. imagine that baby EATING the hearth. That's me.

I also got a kick out of bottles and swing-sets. I was easy to please.

  

 

As I became of school age, I kinda ditched the hearth. I probably still loved the way it tasted.. but feared what others would think of me. Now, I spent time chilling in a cosy coupe, riding big wheels, or marble painting.

  

Now – we are in later elementary school..and clearly toys still dominate my world.  Polly pocket, cabbage patch dolls, Barbie. DOLLS were the jam, if you asked me.  My favorite names for my dolls were Melinda and Clarissa. Why.. I do not know. I think my friend liked those names..and I thought she was cool…

I also developed quite a fancy for Full House and Home Improvement. No – these are not toys. But yes, I had fun watching these shows with my momma. AND TGIF! Boy Meets World, Family Matters.. good times!

  

In Middle School toys weren’t quite as cool anymore. But, I was totally into soccer and basketball – staying busy.

It was also fun to walk around the mall for hours with a group of people.. doing nothing. Just walking.. and maybe spending the $20 that our parents gave us in the food court, arcade, or candy store.  Man.. I thought I was pretty slammin when I was able to get dropped off at the mall and walk around ALONE!

This mall has a pretty fancy food court.. wouldn't you agree?!

When I first started high school, my fun was all about my sports. I was a dedicated athlete. Now though – my idea of fun was being cool. Trying to fit in- do what the cool kids did.  I didn’t go to the pubic high school in my town – so it was a whole new ball game with different people – different places.

Enter: High School Cliques

Fun meant – drinking and not getting caught. Having massive sleepovers with all of my friends – and just being plain silly!

During my senior year of high school and freshman year of college, fun kind of disappeared.  Sadly – I lost sight of who I was and how important I was.  My idea of “fun” was staying in my bedroom – or dorm room.. night after night.. zoning out to TV shows like The OC, The Biggest Loser, and reruns of Friends and Seinfield. Not how the typical 18 year old would have fun.

As I rounded out my college career – fun made some appearances. In the form of partying – spring breaks, etc.  Fun also meant working out (too much) and over extending myself (hey, I thought it was fun).

Common ways to have fun at parties included: cards, beer pong, flip cup, quarters, and catchphrase.

I still had my geeky side – as Jeopardy would make a nightly appearance in my apartment..and two of my roommates and I had a running score sheet!

Post Graduation – fun has changed. I know it has been three years since I have graduated.. but I have developed a strong sense of FUN in that amount of time.

To me, fun is:

  • Laughing with friends

  • Spending quality time with my family

  • Movie nights at home with Justin
  • Exercising to feel good (and nothing else)
  • Spending time in nature

  • A good glass of wine
  • Hitting up a Yankee or Ranger game

  • Game nights
  • Playing in the kitchen
So tell me.. what is YOUR idea of fun!?  Different then mine? Its possible! Different from 10 years ago.. likely! (But, I won’t lie.. I kind of feel like finding  a BIG WHEELS..and going for a ride!)
 
Enjoy your Tuesday!!!
18 responses to “Fun Through the Years

  1. I think we have similar ideas of fun (oh how I miss the OC!). Fun right now is going out to dinner with friends or the boyfriend, playing board games, and, most of the time, Zumba! My friends and I love wine and love to try new places to eat, although we still have fairly simple tastes (a.k.a. we order the cheapest bottle of wine on the menu).
    I think I miss skip-its most of all, I may need to get mine out of the garage when I get home, you know, just for old times sake ;-).

  2. My idea of fun is: running, blogging, spending time with friends, and traveling.

    I LOVED TGIF – Sabrina was my favorite show in the lineup hehe 🙂

    Glad you’re having beautiful New England weather too!

  3. Omg, TGIF and Home Improvement were the BEST!!

    I just posted last night that I have become so lame lately lol. I get migraines pretty regularily so I’ve stopped drinking for a while. Now my weekends consist of the gym, chillin with the dog, watching movies, laying in the sun, and sometimes some sober fun with my drunk friends.

  4. You ate the hearth! That made me laugh!
    I really liked this post and I learned a lot about you 🙂

  5. It’s crazy how much my idea of fun has changed over time… in college fun was always getting blackout drunk and staying up til 6am with the company of greasy wings and late night pizza. Fun to me now is going out for a run when its gorgeous out, exploring farmers markets, getting new workout gear and gadgets… its a 180!

  6. Blogging, hanging out with friends, and cooking are all fun. However, I must admit, beer pong is still fun to me too. I still have my college table collecting dust in my garage behind my recycling bins. Ha… guess it doesn’t get much use anymore!

  7. It’s great to see how fun changes during the stages of our lives. I remember how much I loved coming home from school and going to “play” outside with my friends. That was fun for me.
    Now ‘fun’ is having a weekend where I don’t spend it studying!

  8. pawsitivelife

    My idea of fun was certainly changed throughout the years, from playing in dirt as kid, to watching too much tv, to partying way to hard, to now just enjoying the company of good friends

  9. My idea of fun has certainly changed over the years. I had the same type of fun as you in college; drinking, partying, friends but now I love perusing a flea market on a lazy Sunday, having a BBQ & some bevies with our friends or just taking a long walk on a beautiful day with our dogs. We also LOVE to travel and explore new places. As we get older and life gets more hectic, I find fun in the simple, relaxing things. We like to go out & have a good time, but hangovers and sleeping until 2 p.m. is no longer on my list of fun things to do 🙂

  10. For me fun kinda varies. Sometimes I wanna go out dancing and drinking and other nights I wanna stay indoors and watch a movie or hang at a friend’s house

  11. Polly pockets!!Oh my gosh, I remember those! I had a whole tub of them. 🙂 Glade to hear I’m the not only college kid that’s not into parties and all that for fun, too. 🙂

    • I definitely had my times of partying…but I had too many comittments to really be out.. and a few controlling exes who didn’t let me go out. Sad, but true. Learn from the past!

  12. Boy Meets World = best TV show ever! I totally remember Polly Pockets too 🙂

  13. The Teenage Taste

    I loved reading about your ideas of fun through the years. I have to admit…I loved playing with Barbies when I was little too!
    Now I like to blog, hang with friends, run, eat, go to parties, cook, and watch movies!

  14. Right now it’s fun to spend time with the hubby and friends/family, travel, try new restaurants with the hubs, yoga, tennis, pilates, happy hour, and of course blogging! 🙂 I wonder how much my idea of fun will have changed in a few years?

Leave a Reply

