Delicious AND Nutritious

In the form of a COOKIE. Mmhmm. That is right, my cookie monsters.  For the first time in my baking career… I have concocted a successful recipe that actually tasted good.. ON MY FIRST TRY!

I usually end up making change..after change.. after change. (Most often because there is not enough sweetness).  But not this time.

And just for kicks – I decided to throw the ingredients into spark people to figure out the nutritional stats of my precious creation.

Drum roll please…

Ladies and gentlemen, Beyond Banana’s readers of all ages, I present you with:

Choco-Nana PB Cookies

(Makes 36 cookies)

Ingredients

  • 1 c. whole wheat flour
  • 1/2 c. peanut flour
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 5 grams stevia (I use packets.. so 5 packets)
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 tbsp Cocoa Powder (I used Hershey’s Special Dark 🙂 )
  • 3 bananas, mashed (extra ripe) (about 1 c.)


  • 2 tbsp smooth peanut butter (I used PB & Co.)
  • 3/4 c. applesauce, unsweetened
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 tbsp smart balance light, melted

Preperation

  • Preheat Oven to 350*
  • Combine all ingredients in a bowl
  • Mix until well blended


  • Drop rounded tablespoons of cookie batter onto an ungreased cookie sheet


  • Bake for 10 minutes
  • Remove from sheet and let cool

Like I said, I entered all of my ingredients into sparkpeople.. and came up with so

So – like I said.. I did something I rarely do.. I went to spark people to figure out the nutritional information for these choconana delights.  The reason I did this was a result of my utter shock for how great these tasted. Considering the lack of “normal” baked good ingredients.. I just had to know.  Allow me to provide you with a little snap shot…

Mhmm.. that is right. 30 calories a cookie. LESS then one gram of fat.  Very little sugar.. very few carbs.  I don’t think it is too shabby for a nice sweet snack.And they do taste okay.  It isn’t just my wack healthy taste buds.  Because Justin has been chomping them left and right.

His response to when I showed him the nutrional stats…

“So, this means I can have 8 of these.. and it is still only 240 calories.”

He is a true mathematician.

If you make these cookies.. (or any of my recipes for that fact) .. please let me know what you think. Especially these. Because I am obsessed with them right now. I spent alllll Saturday night tootin’ my own horn!

Catching up from the weekend? (If you were doing something really fun.. please share… I am sure I will be jealous!)

Well, on Friday, I had trouble deciding what I should do to my hair… and then on Saturday, I made that decision and went to the hairdresser.  Sunday… well it started off rather silly (read… REALLY ANNOYING!) and then went to a kick-ass boot camp class!

You can also check out my updated blogroll!!

31 responses to “Delicious AND Nutritious

  1. These look like tasty little bites 🙂 I like that they’re low calorie enough to eat a few – because a few cookies is sometimes (okay, always) better than one. 😉

    Hope you’re not drowning in rain in CT! 🙂

  2. Thanks for the recipe – you can’t go wrong with PB/banana/chocolate combo.

  3. I did an experiment with cookies this weekend and they turned out great! I just used mashed bananas, oats, apple sauce, and chocolate chips – no flour or anything! I’m going to post the recipe this week!

  4. I get so excited when I create my very own unique recipe that turns out!! Your cookies look so yummy & I love the calorie/fat count. It doesn’t get any better than that!!

  5. Well well! I think we have a modern day baker on our hands here! You are always creative with healthy ingredients! I would be saying the same thing as Justin.. LOL!!!

  6. Ack! Now I realllllly need to try peanut flour. Congrats on the baking success and the rockstar nutritionals!

  7. indecisiveathlete

    omg those look so good! I just made cookies too that are healthy and I’m about to go find out the nutrional stats thanks to your link 🙂 I think I may try making these the next time I get a baking urge 🙂

  8. Peanut butter and banana AND on the healthy side? I am in heaven! I am such a sucker for both of those things these cookies look great!

  9. What the heck is peanut flour??!

    • It is peanuts ground into flour. You can use to to bake… or combine it with water to make a peanut butter paste.. use it to make peanut sauces.
      It has less fat and calories then regular PB. 1/4 cup has 110 calores and 4.5 grams of fat. I did a giveaway for it last week! It ended last night.

  10. these look good! Too bad I hate bananas 😦 I know, so sad!

  11. Those cookies are like the perfect bite. I love banana in any kind of dessert 😀

  12. Those look awesome, Cait! Yummers! I didn’t know about the nutritional stats thingy — that’s pretty darn cool. Hope you have a great week, chica! xo

  13. Whoa, 30 calories per cookie?? That’s awesome!!! I’m all for chocolatey and banana-y..esepcially is it’s healthy!

  14. I want to make these!! I love spark recipes. Entering things in there is so easy and it helps a lot!! I love to see how much protein and calcium I can make out of whatever I end up putting together.

  15. Your cookies look delicious and I love that they are only 30 calories a piece! Good job!

  16. Haha, I totally agree with what Justin said! I can never stop at one cookie (or two… or three…) so these are perfect 🙂

  17. YUM!!! I have got to try these!! 🙂

  18. Pingback: Longest Outdoor Run to Date! | Beyond Bananas

  19. Pingback: Wednesday EATS :) WIAW | Beyond Bananas

  20. Pingback: It’s the Boobie Bake Sale! | Beyond Bananas

  21. Pingback: Dangerously HOT.. and a LAST CHANCE | Beyond Bananas

Leave a Reply

