Asian Stir Fry with Peanut Sauce

Happy Friday!  This week kinda FLEW by for me… especially because  it was only a four day week for me. But who am I kidding.. lately, all weeks have been flying by.. I can’t believe the end of my first year of teaching is so close!

Even though the weather has been bad all week – and there is a chance for more rain scheduled in the forecast tomorrow, I’ve got some jitters in my stomach. It is the 2 mile walk/run for my school – where we try to raise money to help keep our charter school up in running.

As I have mentioned before, charter schools do not receive all of the financial support that a public school receives.. (only 75%) so it is up to the school to raise the rest of the money.  This fundraising walk/run is one of the events.

I am part of the committee.. so I am really excited! We have been busy choosing t-shirt designs, securing sponsors, and planning the entire day. Tomorrow.. it all comes together as one!

Yay!

Now – I am sure you are all anxious to see this little peanut sauce recipe I created using peanut flour 🙂 (Okay..maybe not.. but you can atleast pretend .. right 😉 )

So, let’s get to it!

Asian Stir Fry with Peanut Sauce


(adapted from Gina @ Skinny Taste)

Peanut Sauce


  • 1/2i c. fat free, low sodium chicken broth
  • 2.5 tbsp peanut flour
  • 2.5 tbsp water
  • .5 tbsp Franks Hot Sauce
  • 1 tbsp honey
  • 1 tbsp lower sodium soy sauce
  • .5 tbsp freshly grated ginger
  • 1 cloves minced garlic
Combine peanut flour and water in a small bowl and mix until blended. It will be of peanut butter consistency.  Add all ingredients to a small sauce pan.  Bring to a boil – and then simmer until everything is blended and is a smooth consitency.
Meanwhile – Prepare CHICKEN
  • Chicken (or other protein – enough for 2)
  • .5 tbsp Frank’s Hot Sauce
  • Juice of 1/4 lime
  • 2 cloves minced garlic
  • .5 tbsp lower sodium soy sauce
  • .5 tbsp freshly grated ginger
Combine all items (except chicken) in a small bowl. Then mix in chicken (which is cut into bit size pieces) being sure to coat each piece. Transfer everything to a wok or frying pan – and cook chicken thoroughly.  Once chicken is cooked, remove from pan and set aside
*Before getting your veggies on the stove, prepare your RICE NOODLES (2 – 3 ounces) according to the directions on the package.  This will allow ample time for the noodles to cook completely.
Veggies
  • 1/2 c. chopped green onion
  • 3/4 c. shredded carrots
  • 3/4 cups broccoli slaw
  • Lime (slice the remainder of the one used previous)
Stir fry all of the veggies in the wok or frying pan until softened.
Now – you are ready to combine all of your ingredients!  First – be sure to drain your rice noodles. We don’t want all that water in our dish. Add the peanut sauce into the noodles – followed by the chicken – and finally the veggies.  Toss everything until well mixed.  Serve immediately.. and ENJOY!
Now – I am not going to lie – this was rather time consuming for me. But it was tasty too!  If you do plan on making this – I would set aside about an hour of your time. To save time.. you can always chop your onion – and shred your carrots ahead of time!


15 responses to “Asian Stir Fry with Peanut Sauce

  1. I love Gina’s recipe! They’re always so wonderful! This looks really good and I’m going to try to make it next week!
    Thanks for sharing! 🙂

  2. I hope the walk goes well today!!!

  3. i have never used peanut flour but i know people go crazy over it!! i heard it was being discontinued!

    i love gina’s recipes, they are so easy and i love that she includes all the nutritional facts!

  4. I’ve just discovered that I love peanut sauce! I better make this before I run out of peanut flour- I only have a tiny bit left!

  5. I am addicted to recipes containing peanut sauce. I cannot get enough of them! I am so envious of your meal as well because I haven’t cooked dinner in almost a week yikes! Happy friday and have a great weekend!!

  6. Good luck with the walk. 🙂

    Every time I see Frank’s Red Hot Sauce I think of that old lady in the commercials saying “I put that shit on everything!” LOL!

  7. I love broccoli slaw! Oh, and hot sauce. Oh, and soy sauce. Yeah, sounds like a winner! By the way, I agree with Laura about the little old lady!

  8. you had me at peanut flour! this recipe is bookmarked and my shirataki noodles & cabbage cole slaw have been set aside for tomorrow’s dinner! 🙂 thank you!

  9. That stir fry looks amazing! 🙂

Leave a Reply

