Going that EXTRA Mile!

Good afternoon, dear friends! Well.. almost evening. Holy moly. WHERE did this day go?! I hope you are enjoying your Saturday so far! I know that I sure am.

It started out BRIGHT and early.. a 5:30 am wake up call on a Saturday morning. Now, I am certainly an early riser..but not 5:30 on a weekend.

Today though – I had some business to take care of!

The Walk/Run was this morning. And clearly, I was the individual on the committee that was nominated to be the volunteer on site at 6:30am. (Because… 1. I am a ROOKIE, 2. Everyone knows my sleeping habits since they see posts from me on FB in the weeeee hours of the morning).

So – Justin and I were up and at em!  Surprsinginly.. upon arriving to the site of the race, the sun was shining and it was a comfortable temperature.

We got the registration tables ready, helped to mark out the course, and drew the starting line and the finish line.

Justin the Champ (Shadow Form)

Then I had some breakfast – still 3 hours before race time.  You don’t think I skipped my oats, do you?

Silly! Of course I didn’t! I brought them with me! 🙂

Extra Cinnamon on Top!

Then. It got cloudy. Foggy. Breezy. Cold. I am a wimp when it comes to cold weather – so I most certainly escaped to the car a couple of times to warm up!

It was odd trying to capture pictures without looking weird…since my blog is not a known facet of my personality at work. I don’t know. I just am NOT ready for that. Who knows if I every will be!

(Btw – the picture on the shirt was drawn by one of our 4th graders! Amazing!) I hate running in t-shirts… especially the ones handed out at the race.. but this is certainly an exception!

We had about 300 participants. It was pretty inspiring to see a great family event. So many students with parents – teachers with their families – and supporters of our school in general!

While the race was supposed to be 2.0 miles – it actually only ended up being 1.87. How do I know this.. well because I wore my Garmin!  *I felt really silly wearing my Garmin.. but did it anyway. EVERYONE was like.. what is that hunk of equipment on your wrist!?

So – I ended up being the first female finisher with a total time of 13:09.  I was 2nd overall! 🙂  I know it was only a two mile race..but am still pretty happy with it! It averaged out to a 7:03/mile pace.

The best part of finishing so quick..was that I got to CHEER for everyone else as they crossed the finish line.. including Justin – who was the 3rd male finisher.. and 5th overall! 🙂 GO BABE!

My favorite part of the day was seeing to sense of accomplishment written across every student’s face as the ran, jogged, or walked across the finish line!  I was more then happy to be the girl standing right there with my arms wide open to give each of them a huge hug and a cheesy medal!

We had a little awards ceremony.

Hey Trophy!

Families enjoyed some lunches, while the kids played some field games..

And there was even a child identification tent set up for the families to take advantage of!

It was definitely a very successful event and I am so happy that I was lucky enough to be involved! I am proud of every student and parent who made the effort to participate!

Afterwards, Justin was a hungry man, so we stopped at Panera for lunch.

I had 1/2 a turkey sandwich on whole grain bread with lettuce, tomato, onion and mustard, as well as a classic salad with balsamic viniegarette.

I also hit up Whole Foods next door. I don’t buy TOO much there because I would be broke if I did. I mainly go there to get bulk oats. This time, I picked up bulk Oat Bran too – because I watched Carrie’s video on how she makes her oats. She uses oat bran and I decided to give a go.

I also picked up one of these.

I have tried Kombucha in the past.. but got orignal flavor.. and could barely stomach it. This however – tastes much better.

I only had a little bit because I have read it is something you must slowly accustom your body to!

Justin and I then headed out for a walk.. because as soon as we got home.. the SUN miraculously appeared again.  We walked for 80 minutes – and covered almost 4 miles. It was beautiful! We loved being able to soak up the sun and enjoy nature.. and each other’s company. All at the same time!

Check out these massive mushrooms we saw!

And I of course cannot go without taking pictures of beautiful flowers!

After getting home, I snacked and began reporting to you!

Vanilla Yogurt, 1/2 Banana, PB, Cinn

Tell me: Do your co-workers know of your blog? If so – how did you introduce them to it?!

Enjoy your last few hours before “Rapture”. 🙂 I will probably be at Walmart when it strikes. We are looking for a little bistro set for our baby deck. I didn’t realize until earlier today – this this is the day were all of the “good” people will be taken .. while the sinners will stay on earth until December.

If this “Rapture” were true.. would you be on your way today.. or chillin on earth until December?

21 responses to “Going that EXTRA Mile!

  1. ill be here till december 😉 KIDDING!! YAYAY for oat bran!! hope it turns out fABULOUSLY!

  2. My blog is 100% secret from my coworkers. I work in a lab with all boys, and doubt they have interest in it 😛
    Congrats on a successful event !

  3. Hmm..I don’t know. I do love Christmas. So I might prefer to stick around for December. 😉 I made Carrie’s oat bran yesterday and it turned out perfect! I used vanilla extract in place of almond (cuz i’m not really a fan of the almond extract flavor).

  4. congrats on your fast pace! sounds like the race was a success!
    my co-workers don’t know about my blog. i do, however, work in a community outreach/nutrition department that promotes healthy living, so they’d probably be really supportive. i’d be afraid, though, that they’d get grossed out by all the weird stuff i eat! 🙂 also, my blog talks about my past/current struggles w/ ed and i haven’t “come out” to them about that so i’m not sharing this side of me.

  5. thebeautynotebooks

    Congrats on your race! I’m giving it time before I let others close to me know about my blog–sometime soon though! I absolutely love the blogging community!

  6. You had a fun filled day! Awesome job with the race set up and great run 🙂

    the shirt is adorable! What a talented 4th grader 🙂

    • I know, right?! She was SOO embarrassed when we called her up to the front. She should be proud of her work.. but I would have been the same way (except nothing I drew would have EVER made it on a t-shirt..art is not my cup of tea)

  7. KILLER time! I’m so impressed! Glad to hear the race went off well. 🙂

  8. woooo go Kombucha gooo!! lloove it. but its super expensive

  9. LOVE the new look!!!! Congrats on the walk/run yesterday, glad everything turned out juuuuust right. Enjoy your Sunday! I don’t know about you but I loathe Sundays because that means school tomorrow!

  10. You are quick! The run looks like a fun event!

  11. Congratulations on your awesome finish!! So impressive, girlie!! And no…very few peeps know about my blog so far. But then, I just started it last month. I’m slowly but surely sharing it with a few people close to me for now. 🙂

  12. Great job with the race! I’m just getting back into running and am aiming for 7 min pace at my next race, hope i can do it!
    I’ve been pretty open about my blog with people but it’s just recipes so there’s not much to hide!

  13. Such a cool way to get kids involved in physical fitness. 🙂 You’re like speedy gonzalez 🙂

    Love your new (?) header, btw! I have some friends and coworkers that know that I blog, but not all know the address or anything. It really depends.

  14. haha oh the end of the world… how brutal it was!? I was out biking on Saturday, soaking up the sun, and being thankful for this beautiful planet we call home 🙂 Sounds like you had a great day too!
    Introducing work to my blog: I sent a company wide email haha and told them to tell everyone they knew. You can dooo it!

  15. Congrats on the race! Go Justin too!!!! woot woot!!

    I love the new blog layout and header!! It rocks, like you ; )

    I do not have co-workers! Ha! My family and friends all know my blog, they love it!

    Happy Sunday night love! xoxo ❤

  16. I’ve told a few coworkers about my blog, but only a few. My family doesn’t know about it either. My blog is for me and I don’t want anyone knowing about it that I feel might discourage and not support what I’m doing.

  17. Pingback: Local Spotlight: Stew Leonard’s | Beyond Bananas

Leave a Reply

