Everything is Falling into Place

Once again, you have all proven yourself to be nothing short of amazing. Your comments touch my heart so much and I appreciate your words of encouragement and motivation with regards to my not-so-perfect senior year.  So glad to have such great bloggie friends! 🙂

Today – in addition to the amazing comments that you all left me.. was truly something special.

Wow. It feels so good to say that I finally feel like everything is falling into place. At school I mean. We may be 168 days into a 180 day school year – but I am okay with that. Because it is happening. And that is all I could ask for.

You see, normally, when I come back to school after being out for just one day, I am overwhelmed.  I come back to a pile of referrals – or notes regarding students who were misbehaving. Piles of papers that need to be graded.

Today.. I was expecting an explosion. I mean I’ve been out for 2 whole days.  But let me tell you – I underestimated the abilities of my students. (Ookay.. I definietly did NOT underestimate them. I always KNEW they were capable of extraordinary things.. they have just never chosen to demonstrate their extraordinary-ness).

This lovely note is what I came back to:

And also a big fat pile of:

GRADED PAPERS.

Classroom – clean. Desk – clean. Wow – I have never felt so (under)whelmed upon entering my classroom.  There were even a bunch of coupons in the Caught Ya Jar.

Happy teacher 🙂

LOVE the detailing of this shirt! 🙂

On top of that.. the guidance counselor came around with a troubled first grader.. asking my students some things he should need to know be a successful in the first grade.  Here are some of there responses. (I swear this is what they said):

  • “Always focus and work hard. Keep trying if something seems hard”
  • “If someone is bothering you, do not let them take away from your learning. Take a deep breath and try to stay focused”
  • “Be Respectful. If you aren’t respectful, people probably aren’t going to want to be your friend.”
  • “Be responsible. There is a lot more stuff that you have to do in second grade..so you need to make sure you get it all done.”
  • “Never give up. Always try your best.”

And my favorite one of all.. by a very bright little 8 year old.

  • “You need to pay attention. And I know you are only in first grade – and there are going to be some things that you find hard in second grade.  These are called challenges..and challenges will make you a better person – so keep pushing through them. I promise the challenges will get easier if you work hard.”

There was no review of what we should say to this first grader.  He just popped in..and kind of caught us off guard. These responses were based SOLELY off of the things my students really felt were important. The things that we discovered together.. the things that would make them successful not only in 2nd grade.. but in life.

I was GLOWING. I have never felt so proud of my kids!  I finally saw it.. the work that I have been putting in–every day.. the worrying I did.. every day.. every night.. every weekend. They grew. They have matured. They are flourishing into these wonderful individuals.  It was indeed.. a fabulous day!

****

I tried to carry that fabulousness into my run after school.  I guess I can say that I semi-accomplished that.  I say semi .. because I kind of had to fight for every single step. Have you ever had one of those runs.. where it feels like a chore from the very first step you take?

Well.. my splits were much slower then usual..  but I can happily say that I (almost) had negative splits for each of my six miles.  Here is the breakdown:

Sorry for the blurriness.. my POS camera wasn't cooperating!

  • Mile 1: 9:09
  • Mile 2: 8:49
  • Mile 3: 8:52
  • Mile 4: 8:49
  • Mile 5: 8:39
  • Mile 6: 7:52

Mile 3 was tough. I had this NASTY stomach cramp for about 1/2 a mile .. it just wouldn’t go away. I swear I was running with my hands over by head for at least 1/4 mile!

You are probably wondering about mile 6. I was back in my complex..and when right into some intervals with about 1/2 a mile to go.  I was doing .5 sprint, .5 jog.  That is why it was so speedy.

Since I still had that much energy at the end of my run, I am SURE I could have pushed myself a little bit harder… but I had “easy” run in mind when I set out today.  It was 82* and sunny.. and it was my first run in the heat this season.

The best part of my run?  Well… I have this GINORMO hill that I always try to make my running routes around. I will go down it.. I will run 2 miles out of the way to not go up it.. you know.. one of THOSE hills (I hope I am not the only one who does this).  Well today.. I conquered it. I was about to hook a right to avoid it.. and thought..

eff this… I’m not happy with most of my run.. let me do something that will make me happy. BAM. I did that hill. For the first time.  Honestly – it wasn’t nearly as bad as I though it would be.  It was about 1/2 mile long though! I conquered the hill during mile 5… my quickest of the day besides the interval mile! :0)

Now, I am cooling off.. blogging, doing some work.. all from the comfort of my lovely bistro set!

Note: Dead Plant in Background. ALL Justin's fault..

I’ve sat on it every day and it hasn’t broke yet! WAHOO!

I know we’ve still got another day left.. but what are you plans for Memorial Day Weekend? We don’t have much planned. We might hit up a movie one night.. and then a picnic on Sunday. My main goal is to spend as much time as possible OUTSIDE!  YAY for summer! 🙂

15 responses to “Everything is Falling into Place

  1. This whole post put a huge smile on my face! I know that feeling of seeing your kids mature without even realizing it- best feeling in the world. GREAT JOB!!!! See, all of the stress does pay off 🙂

  2. I love that shirt!! And you must have been so proud of your kids!! I used to teach kindergarten and I remember the days (and there were many) where I was ready to run out of the room screaming – but then one of them would say something that always reminded me 1) why I was a teacher, and 2) that they really do listen and learn. Oh and P.S. Has anyone ever told you that you look SOOO much like Lauren Conrad?? 🙂

  3. lifeisbeachykeen

    How exciting! What great things your students said, they sound so grown up.

  4. Holy wow those are some insightful kids! Such a high note to end the year on for you!

  5. Yay for summer!! And I’m so glad to hear that everything is paying off, girl! You must be so proud, and for good reason! 🙂

  6. Congratz to you! It sounds like you have a wonderful class. You’ve obviously rubbed off on them (;

    I’m so glad everything is going so well! Breathe and take in this moment, you’ve earned it girl!

    So jealous of your shirt (;

  7. you must be one great teach, that I am sure of!! Congrats and take in those special moments.

  8. indecisiveathlete

    Your class sounds so sweet! and so smart!

    Love your shirt so cute. And congrats on doing that hill! yeah!

  9. Your class’ success is a huge reflection of you! Congratulations!
    Memorial day – BBQ @ our new house!

  10. You are so pretty!!!!

    You are so amazing girl!

  11. What great reviews of your class/great participation by your students 🙂 woo hoooo!

    Good for you for getting out running today when it was hot. I ran early this morning along the ocean in Maine, and it was already getting up there in temperature 🙂

  12. I’m such a baby, I need to find a good running route around my house. It sounds so lame, but I like having it planned and knowing where I can run where it will take me an hour to get back home…I’ve just been treadmilling, but need to get out in the world lol

    I’m glad you came back to underwhelmingness haha

  13. Yay for conquering that hill! There aren’t really any big hills near my normal running routes, but I do love the feeling of running up a big one- after I catch my breath 🙂

  14. The Teenage Taste

    Glad to hear everything is falling into place for you. I am so glad the school year is almost over! Bring on the Summer! 😀

Leave a Reply

