Longest Outdoor Run to Date!

Um. It is Sunday. BUT I am calling it SATURDAY.. because there is NO WORK on Monday. ย HOLLER MEMORIAL DAY! ๐Ÿ™‚

But let’s not forget to take some extra moments and honor those men and women who have SO bravely given their lives so we can enjoy all of the freedoms that we have today..

 

Before we move on.. I have one quick favor to ask of you..

LIKE ME ON FACEBOOK! I created my own page ๐Ÿ™‚

I know you are all out and about and enjoying the beautiful weather in the unoffical kick off of summer – but I thought I’d pop in and share the exciting events of yesterday. (okay.. they aren’t exciting.. but sharing … the average happenings in the life of Cait.. just didn’t sound quite as nice!)

The heat and humidity of southwestern CT have ARRIVED.. so I planned to get up early (no big deal for this early riser) and knock out a run shortly thereafter.

No alarm – but everything went as planned…

6:00 wake up.

6:30 Pre-run Snack

1/2 a Banana & Peanut Butter

7:15 (need to digest) and I was out the door.

I heard Justin rummaging in the bedroom – but wasn’t sure if he was REALLY awake, so I set out for my run on an overcast morning (roughly 65*.. perfect running weather).

I like running early. ย I ran some of my ANGRY RUNNER route… but was not an angry runner today. Nope.. I was a happy runner.. because people were actually giving me my space.. seeing me.. and letting me run! WAHOO!

I had no set plan for how far I was going to run today. In fact, I kept changing it up in my head. I was planning out the future turns I would take.. figuring out how long that might be. ย FIrst I decided on running for an hour.. so about 7 miles. Okay.. let’s go with that.

After I finished my 4th mile..and was on my way to #5… I saw a blue shirt about 75 yards ahead of me.. just turning off of another street. ย It was none other then.. JUSTIN!

But he was 75 yards away. And I was already 4 miles into my run. ย He is not slow.. running between 8:00 and 8:45 min/miles. I wanted to catch him so bad..I was so happy to see him and have an opportunity to (scare) say hello to him!

There were times when I doubted my ability to catch up to him.. I probably said.. it wasn’t possible 4 or 5 times in a short 5 minutes span. ย But.. I CAUGHT HIM! ย And I scared him shitless too! He though I was going to jump him.. he claims!

He told me he’d run with me.. but I said I had 3 or 4 miles left..and he said.. c-ya later! ๐Ÿ™‚

So – an hour came.. and I though.. ehhh I can do 8 miles.. and that it JUST what I did. ย I ran 8 miles and finished with a time of 1:08:10. YES!

Mile Breakdown:

  • Mile 1: 8:40
  • Mile 2: 8:29
  • Mile 3: 8:36
  • Mile 4: 8:32
  • Mile 5: 8:08 … Must. Catch. Justin.
  • Mile 6: 8:37
  • Mile 7: 8:41
  • Mile 8: 8:22
  • Average: 8:31/mi

I am happy with this breakdown for the most part. ย 8 miles is the longest I have ever run outdoors.. (I’ve never brought you to the days where I would run 10 miles on a treadmill) .. and the longest I have ever run without stopping.

Sorry if I seem really narcissistic today.. I am just really proud of myself!

My stomach was a rock when I got home (8:45am after walking for a while and stretching) .. and I couldn’t eat the oats I had prepped prior to my run for a while.

Instead, I showered and was lazy on the couch wishing the clouds would disappear.

My hunger finally came back with a vengeance at around 10:15 – and I ate this yummy bowl. (Nothing different from the norm..)

Since it was still cloudy.. Justin and headed to the mall. ย He people watched.. while I shopped. Here is a little taste of what I got:

Came back, whipped up a super quick, super late lunch (it was 2:00!!) and headed down to the pool.. because the SUN CAME OUT!!!

Sadly, it came out almost immediately after we arrived at the mall.. but we have plenty of time to enjoy the sun for the rest of the weekend..and I had a need to SHOP!

Another one of these for dinner:

And then a night on the couch watching this:

Funny.. for sure. But nothing like Meet the Parents or Meet the Fockers..


Now, I am off to bootcamp and then to a Memorial Day Picnic!

Made a batch of these yummy delights to bring along with me!

What are YOU doing today!

Don’t forget about my bake sale.. CLICK THE IMAGE FOR MORE INFO ๐Ÿ™‚

37 responses to “Longest Outdoor Run to Date!

  1. Congrats on the 8 miles! I remember how great it felt to run that far outside too ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Congrats on the long run–that is awesome! Such a good feeling!

    How funny that you ran into Justin on your run. ๐Ÿ˜€ Enjoy your Sunday!

  3. Go you! Way to set a new distance ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. What a great blog you have here! Those cookies look YUMMMMMYYY!!!!

  5. Congrats on your run! I’m glad that you caught up with Justin!!! You showed him! ๐Ÿ˜‰

  6. Congrats on your run! I’m calling today Saturday too since I have off from work tomorrow! Love long weekends ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. Congrats on your long run! That’s too funny you ran into your boyfriend running too. ๐Ÿ™‚

  8. Yay on the run!!
    And..please check out my post today! I swear we are twins today! I ran 8 miles, which was my longest run and I also say how I think today is another Saturday! Too funny! ๐Ÿ™‚

  9. congrats on your long run! and don’t ever feel that being proud of yourself is narcissistic – you’ve worked hard for your fitness accomplishments and should be proud!
    it’s when you fall into a puddle of your own sweat that you need to start worrying! ๐Ÿ™‚

  10. way to go! thats a great pace. The heat and humidity is on here too. Um 98F for the high. shoot me!

  11. Wonderful job on the run…terrific!!…That sandwich looked excellant, I never thought about putting laughing cow cheese on a sandwich. I am going to start using it in my wraps. Thanks for the idea!!!

    Take Care…

  12. The Teenage Taste

    Whoa! Congrats on the 8-miler! You are such a speed demon! ๐Ÿ™‚

  13. Way to go on the run! You’re not narcissistic at all – you should be proud! ๐Ÿ™‚

    That’s interesting you say you stomach was a rock after – mine does that too sometimes. I thought I was the only one!

    • Yeah.. it was really weird. Most times, I am like.. give me foooood as soon as I walk in the door. Even through my run thought.. I kept thinking of how stuffed I felt and how my oats would just have to wait until later. Strange!

  14. Amazing job on your run! Don’t worry you are not being narcissistic, you should be proud of your accomplishment ๐Ÿ™‚

  15. Woooo you rocked that run! Awesome job! One of my goals by labor day is to run 8 miles outside, which is going to be a challenge since my outside pdr is 4.7 miles!

  16. Hi! I just wanted to stop by and say hey. Thanks for checking out my blog and commenting the other day! I’m excited to read more of your blog now! ๐Ÿ™‚

  17. AWESOME RUN! You are so speedy too ๐Ÿ˜€

  18. What are those amazing cookies? Recipe please!

  19. Congrats on your run!! You’re so speedy! You definitely have reason to be proud ๐Ÿ˜‰ The cookies look wonderful as well.
    Thank you for stopping by my blog! Glad you enjoyed – and I can say I’ve enjoyed yours, too!

  20. CONGRATS on your awesome long run! and you look so cute and excited in your pic, i know i always feel the same way after a great one. even better that you caught up with Justin…nothing like trying to catch someone to motivate you to go faster. ๐Ÿ™‚

    that said, i’m going to jump on board with what the others are saying that those cookies look DELISH! ๐Ÿ™‚

  21. GREAT GREAT GREAT job on 8 miles outside! I think running outside is a lot more tough (physically) than the dread mill. Seriously.. so proud for you!

    I was CRACKING up that you scared Justin hahaha.

    I def like to people watch @ the mall ๐Ÿ˜€

  22. You SHOULD be proud of yourself!! WahoO! You are speedy, too…good job, Lady!

Leave a Reply

