The Final Countdown

Yes. It has begun. I almost have an entire school year under my belt. It is really hard to believe that time has gone by so quickly.

In fact, this time last year, I still didn’t even know if I would HAVE a full-time teaching job for the 2010-2011 school year.  I did not get the call from my now principal until June 11.  Yes. I remember the exact date.  It was quite a memorable time for me.

I had been waiting for the phone call.. for weeks now. My demo lesson was in the first week of May – and was told I would hear in 3-4 weeks. Um. It was more then 4 weeks. AND once I hit the 4 week mark, I got super nervous.

But then – that night.. June 11.. I was standing in the kitchen in chatting with my mother.. and my phone rang. It was the school. “Omigod, Omigod, OMigod… it’s them, it’s them, it’s them..”

When I received my offer.. I was legit jumping up and down like a mad woman (landing a quietly as possible because I was still on the phone, of course)…

And as soon as I ended the call.. the waterworks began. It was SO emotional for me. It isn’t the best job market for teachers.. budgets being cut every year and what not.. Not too many schools are on the hunt for new hires.  It was a big deal.. (mind you Justin and I were in the middle of our house hunting… and the permanent second income.. meant SO much..)

I am pretty sure everyone in my family had tears in their eyes, too!  It was a very emotional and joyous occasion for all of us!

So – with that in mind – I want to soak up and ENJOY every last day of my FIRST YEAR.. because nothing will ever be quite like it..

You better believe I had those white capris out the day after Memorial Day!

I started off my day with the usual:

Overnight Oats with Berries…

I was then given an oh-so-lovely gift by one of my students this morning:

I mean.. how did she KNOW that I can get a little crazy when it comes to jelly beans.  To stop myself from eating an entire bag by Friday – I have decided that these will be jellybeans to share with the entire class ( me included.. I AM a part of the class after all…)

I also got back into one of my favorite snacks that has so many health benefits:

Yummy Grapefruit!

By recess time, I was seriously debating whether or not I should wait until like 6 or 7 to run.. since it was super hot and humid.. but ultimately, I decided I just needed to go as soon as I got home.

Since it was sunny and I need to protect my eyes and skin.. I sported a VISOR for the first time.

HEY NOW!!

I liked how it kept the sun out of my eyes and I didn’t feel like I was squinting the entire time I ran..

However, upon returning home, I realized I was in such a frenzy about the visor.. I completely forgot to wash off my make-up. Hello Raccoon Eyes! Woops 🙂 !

Final Stats:

4 Miles! 8:20 Average Pace

  • Mile 1: 8:21
  • Mile 2: 8:19
  • Mile 3: 8:24
  • Mile 4: 8:15
Pretty happy with those splits.. while they may not be negative splits.. they are hovering all right around the same place.. showing consistency.  I have been getting so much better at NOT staring at my Garmin the entire race.. and just running at a pace that feels good!
On the menu for tonight.. WRAPS! Something easy.. and that doesn’t require much in the kitchen work.. because it is toasty in here.  We are trying to not use the A/C unless completely necessary.
So – tell me – if you are a big kid with a big kid job.. do you remember when you first heard you were hired?!  I’d love to here your story!

Do you have a favorite flavor Jelly Belly? Mine is espresso.. LOVE.
27 responses to “The Final Countdown

  1. Aww, it was so cute to read about you getting hired! Way to be!!

    Good job on the pace of your run, impressive!! My fav flavor of jelly beans is anything but black liquorice lol 🙂

  2. Nice job on the run! It is hot out today!
    I totally remember getting my offer for my job (still there 7 yrs later). I actually wasn’t super excited b/c it was my 3rd offer (job market was much better in ’04!) and I wanted it the most but the pay was the least! haha

  3. How exciting about you getting hired. I can only imagine how emotional it must have been for you. The job market for teachers is definitely slim, not easy finding a job nowadays 😦

  4. lifeisbeachykeen

    How exciting to be completing your first year of teaching! They had a lot of cuts this year in Florida for teachers. Not sure where, but I’ve heard about it on the news the last few months.

    I am shocked by the fact that you are trying not to turn on the air. I can not even fathom not having the a/c on. It’s been on for….months. At least since March. There were a few nights in May that we were able to turn it off, but there is no way we could have it off all day/night.

    • We do it for electricity reasons..always trying to save a buck! I mean.. after a while we wil have to have it on when we are home. We have wall units though.. not central.. so it is a little different too.

  5. You are so cute!!!! Congrats on your run!

  6. I love reading the story of how you got your job! I know that Nick is going to be the same way because he has been in grad school for 10 years!

    It is so wonderful to hear how much you love your job and it’s so evident how much you care about your students 🙂

    I’ve been thinking about getting a visor so to protect my face from the rays, which one did you get?

    I have to say I’ve had many a job before and they were always easy to get because I worked in the fitness and food industries where there was always high turnover. Starting my line cook job was hilarious though because I had never worked in such a fast paced environment before so the first week was definitely a learning experience (read – I flipped an omelette into the gas range!)

    Hope you have lovely wrap dinner! 🙂

    • Ooooh I am ALL about the freebees. This visor is nothing special. I got it after my 10K at the beginning of the month.. from a real estate agency. So it is NOTHING fancy. and definitely isn’t meant for the runner.. but it does the job just fine. Free = AWESOME!

      AHh.. I don’t think I could EVER keep up with the pace of being a line cook.. I would do something MUCH worse then flipping an omlett onto a gas range!

  7. I love your visor! I’m on the lookout for one. I wear glasses, so I don’t wear sunglasses when I run and I need something to keep my eyes protected!

    • Hahah.. when I have my glasses on . and not he contacts.. I totally do the double.. sunglasses over glasses. All the cool kids do it. (or not.. just me.. and I am not cool..)

  8. Congradulations of on first year of teaching!!!…I just love reading your posts and how you detail your workout and meals…I can picture the jumping up and down while on the phone, so hard to keep quiet doing that sort of thing…I know…excellant job on the run!!

    Take Care…

  9. That is so exciting – congratulations on your first year!! My favorite is popcorn.. yes, popcorn! I’m not sure why, I just love it!

  10. Yay and congratulations on the first year…it is without a doubt the HARDEST. It just gets easier and more enjoyable. 🙂

    I applied to over 200 jobs, and just got ONE interview – which I happened to nail. Praise the Lord. That’s how I got my 1st big girl teaching job.

    • Very similar to me!! I applied to like every district in the state.. and actually got my ONE interview for my now job.. through a job fair. And I though the massive mob of hundreds of people was a waste of time.. 😉

  11. Jelly belly Yums!! Love those!!! I like the cappuccino flavor, coconut, and strawberry!! I love so many! So good!

    So proud of you! Congrats on yournfirst year teaching! I bet that was a memorable day for you, big things like that, you never forget!

    Love u!

  12. What are these overnight oats that I see alot of people making??
    Big kid with a big job? I feel more like a little kid with a big job haha but I did get my offer when I was vacationing in Maine and I was so scared of losing service I accepted while leaning out a window. good times!

  13. Cute blue shirt and capris!
    My favorite jelly belly flavors are the ColdStone mix ones!

  14. I was at the beach with family and fiance’ (boyfriend at the time) when I found out about my first job offer… it was such a great moment!

    CONGRATS LADY! You deserve it!

  15. I LOVE jelly bellys. I really applaude you for being able to share them.. i couldnt 🙂

Leave a Reply

