Foodie Friday: Turkey SLOPPY Joes

Okay.. I am making some decisions for my blog – like a consistant schedule of posting certain things.

Once of these Changes… is FOODIE FRIDAY.  I am going to get you a recipe.. every Friday morning.  SOO.. always be on the lookout for something new.. every FRIDAY, right here at BEYOND BANANAS! (woah now.. a little overboard on the caps in this paragraph. My sincere apologies. Kind of.)

So – when I think back to my childhood -I think of sloppy joes. Definitely not the ones that they made in the school cafeteria.

No way. Those were just plain nasty.

But I loooved it when my mother made sloppy joes!

Now – since I don’t eat red meat, I can’t really make your childhood sloppy joes.  And since I try to stay away from processed foods as much as I can.. I also will not be indulging in a big ole can of Manwich.

But fear not, my sloppy joe craving readers… I have a recipe for you this morning!  I promise that it will not disappoint!  It is delicious!

Easy-Peasy Turkey Sloppy Joes

Makes About 3 Sandwiches

Ingredients

  • 1/2 Green Pepper, cut into cubes
  • 1/2 Onion, Chopped
  • 1 Clove Garlic, Chopped
  • 1/2 Jalapeno.. diced

**USE GLOVE WHEN CUTTING JALAPENO.. NO GLOVE.. NO PROBLEM! See my makeshift gloves.. here! 🙂
  • 3/4 lb extra lean ground turkey
  • 1 tbsp chili powder
  • 1 tbsp Worcestershire Sauce (I used reduced sodium)
  • 1 cup. tomato puree

Preperation:

  • Spray pan with non-cook spray, add turkey, onions, peppers, garlic, & jalapeno.  Heat over medium high heat until meat is no longer pink.
 

  • Add chili powder.  Stir occasionally for 2 – 3 minutes.

  • Add tomato puree and worcestershire sauce.  Stir.  Simmer for 3-5 minutes, until sauce thickens.

You may place your marvelous creation on your bread of choice.  As you will see below.. this may differ from person to person. 

Justin prefers a grinder roll.

I, on the other hand, prefer an Arnold’s Sandwich thin.

Brings me right back to my Manwich Days.. MMM, MMM, GOOD!

Do you try to make adaptations to foods you enjoyed as a child?

19 responses to “Foodie Friday: Turkey SLOPPY Joes

  1. Wow, your sloppy joes ARE simple! Yum 🙂

    I make most of my foods the same as I was when I was little (I guess I still am little LOL!) but since i’m a vegetarian I usually add beans or lentils in place of meat 🙂

  2. These look fantastic! I’ll have to give them a go!

    I’m always trying to make over foods, especially to fit into my contest prep diet. It’s hard sometimes, but now I find I prefer my versions 99% of hte time!

  3. Would you believe that my mother NEVER made us sloppy joes as kids!? the horror!
    I like this adaptation though. I always see bloggers doing healthy variations on this as an easy weeknight meal and I need to get on that train!

  4. I’m actually planning on trying to make sloppy joes with tempeh this weekend so we’ll see how that adventure turns out 🙂 These look great though and so easy!

  5. These are awesome! We never ate sloppy joe’s growing up because we were all so picky and my dad didn’t like to eat foods that were so messy (ribs, wings… nada). As a “grown up” I think I’d love this leaner turkey version!

    I try to recreate a lot of childhood favs in a healthy way. Sometimes I look at what we used to eat in disbelief. Ring Dings, Pop-Tarts, banana sandwiches with PB AND mayo (no joke)…

  6. YUM I love sloppy joes! I’ve made a similar recipe using ground turkey a few times, but it’s been a while! I guess I should make them soon again!

    Oh, and about your makeshift gloves. I totally did the exact same thing when I had to clean my oven out last weekend! Too funny 🙂

  7. I love sloppy joes! It kills me that my hubby hates them because they’re such a comfort food for me. Sometimes I make them with Morningstar “beef” crumbles, which are tasty, but the turkey sounds great.

  8. I saw a turkey sloppy joe recipe some where recently, so I bought turkey yesterday the grocery store. I don’t remember where I saw the original recipe, but I’m going to give yours a try for sure! I’ve been wanting a sloppy joe!

  9. mmm i love sloppy joes! i might have to run out to the store tonight to grab some turkey and tomato paste!!

  10. These sound really good! I don’t like red meat either and tend to adjust recipes with chicken or turkey instead. I’ve found that I actually like chicken tacos better!

  11. these sound delicious I might have to try them with a meat sub so perfect for summer!

  12. so funny, i think i’m the only person who hates sloppy joes! i just couldn’t stand getting the meat & sauce on my fingers when the sloppy joes inevitably spilled out of the sandwich!
    hmmm… remade childhood favs, i remake udon w/ shirataki noodles & but honestly (and i can say this in the internet world but not in my own “real world”) my mom wasn’t that great of a cook so i didn’t have a ton of childhood favs! 🙂

  13. Can you believe we never ate sloppy joes when I was a kid? I think I had them one time at a friends house and that was it. I remember them being delicious though.

  14. These look awesome! My mom used to make sloppy joes, and it definitely reminds me of being little 🙂 Yours look suhweet!

  15. Pingback: Over My Head In… | Beyond Bananas

  16. Pingback: Foodie Friday: Caribbean Turkey Burger with Mango Salsa | Beyond Bananas

Leave a Reply

