Over My Head In…

PAPERWORK.. all sorts of it..

Grading, testing, report cards, permanent records.  I mean, I knew the end of the school year would be quite busy.. but I never realized just HOW MUCH would need to be done!

Good news is – I woke up this morning feeling MUCH better than I have for the past few days…

So thank you all for your well wishes.. I am pretty sure they had everything to do with me getting better (seriously.. kind words do a lot!)

Upon arriving to school, sipping on my iced tea..

And opening my work email…

I became a little overwhelmed. With all of the “THINGS YOU NEED TO DO BY 2PM TODAY.. BY TOMORROW.. BY FRIDAY.. BY MONDAY. Yowzers. Holy deadlines.

So, like any normal person would do, I closed my email tab.. and enjoyed my oaties.

Can’t throw myself into a bunch of paper work before being FUELED for the day, now can we?!

Then, I got to work. First up – going through the work my kids did yesterday. A little difficult. But made my way through.

Today was a testing day – in the morning my students (and the rest of the school) took 2 60 minute tests.  (One in reading and one in math).  It assesses the progress they have made since the beginning of the year.  I was very thankful for this, because I was able to DIVE into my report cards…

Annnd.. I finished them. So I can knock one thing off of my list..

Another thing that needs to be done ..  is the removal of EVERYTHING off of the classroom walls. We were told to do this IN CASE they decide to paint the walls.

Word on the street.. is that everyone takes EVERYTHING down.. every year.. and the walls never get painted. So – I began wall removal:

My room looks so sad, bare and lonely without anything on the walls!

Regardless, I feel like I knocked a decent amount of things off of my to-do list today 🙂

Moving on to my extra curricular activities..

Remember when I was having trouble figuring out how I can mix of my fitness routines – since all I want to do is be outside in the sun.. and the glorious weather?

Welp, I answered my own question…

Source

HUMIDITY. Yes. humidity and super hot temperatures will certainly help me get my butt to the gym to do some cross training and strength training.

Thats what happened today. It was hot. It was humid. I was sweating while sitting at a picnic table.. in the shade.. at recess. Air conditioned gym.. YES PLEASE!

I did 40 minutes of strength training – concentrating in my legs (lots of lunges, squats.. ) and rounded out my session with 30 minutes on the elliptical. After a 5 minute warm-up, I did 20 minutes of HIIT – and the cooled down for 5 more minutes.

Today’s work out was SUPER different from all my other workouts. I ALWAYS do my cardio first. But I reversed it today. Mainly because I could lift in a the group fitness room ( my fave place) if I did that portion of my workout first (if I had waited, a class would have been going on).

It wasn’t so bad – but my legs were definitely a little bit more fatigued then usual during my cardio… for obvious reasons.

After coming home, I munched on some dark chocolate chips. I mean.. thats a great post-workout meal.. RIGHT?!

And .. for dinner, I ‘ve been craving stuffed peppers.  Stuffed peppers are another meal that remind me of my childhood… just like the sloppy joes. I loved it when we had stuffed peppers for dinner. So tonight, using Mama Pea’s delicious recipe, I made some of my own. I used a red pepper – and it was stuffed with quinoa, tomato sauce, onion, spices.

Thank you, Mama Pea.. for this delicious recipe. I will certainly be having this again.. soon 🙂

So, tell me – Do you do cardio first.. or strength training?  What do you think is best?!

One another.. very important note.. please keep bidding in my BAKE SALE FOR BOOBIES. There are still a number of items.. (DELICIOUS ITEMS) without bids.. it only take 15$… and you are contributing to SAVE A LIFE! FIGHT BREAS CANCER! Please.. consider donating. It is truly a great, great cause.  Check out the goodies up for grabs HERE.. and the high bids HERE!

23 responses to “Over My Head In…

  1. Definitely cardio first for me. HITT is hard enough without fatigued legs!

  2. I usually do cardio first, although I should really start doing strength training first- I never end up doing it 🙂

  3. Hope you get all of your work done this week! This week has already been super stressful for me too so I can relate! 🙂

  4. Glad you’re feeling better!

    I’ll usually spit double days into AM and PM workouts. If I have to do them together, I do cardio first (mainly because it’s too easy to talk myself out of it after a good weight workout!).

  5. I am so happy you are feelin better! Woo!!
    I usually do cardio first 🙂

  6. Ahhh you’re gorg!!! Why have I never made stuffed peppas?!

  7. Ummm…are you sure you weren’t talking about my day today!? Work has me so overwhelmed and every time I see my BB blinking or the envelope appear in the right-hand corner of my screen, my heart beats faster…what now I think. LOL!

    I’m glad you’re feeling better! Coffee definitely helps! 😉

    • Oh no!! Hate it when life gets overwhelmingly busy. I hope your week calms down a little bit 🙂 If not.. after tomorrow.. we are more then 1/2 way to the weekend!

  8. Ahhh the end of school…so fun for students but so stressful for teachers I can imagine!!

    I split up my cardio with doing the majority of the session before weights, then weights, then a lower intensity session afterward. It helps keep my heart rate up the entire time and flush out my muscles.

    • That is an awesome idea! I did a warm up before my weights, but I’ve been seeing a lot of people splitting cardio half and half.. before and after strength. I will have to try it!

  9. I’m definitely a cardio before strength training kind of gal, but lately I’ve been feeling more fatigued than usual when doing my weights. Maybe I should try switching it up and see what happens? I’m lovin’ your stuffed peppers – quinoa’s good in EVERYTHING!

  10. Glad you are feeling better today! Since I don’t have access to a gym I either run or do a work out DVD.. I’m just waiting for the day when I can have a gym membership.one day.

    • Thank, Jena!
      I think you are super creative with your workouts and admire what you do without having access to the gym. Having a gym is ahuge motivator.. and you can motivate without one!

  11. So glad to hear that you are feeling better!

    I always do weights first because I hate sitting on the weight bench with a sweaty bod.

  12. Mmm, I love stuffed peppers. I did them a few months back (while I was still eating meat – with some ground turkey and they were good). I love how they look like a lot, but it’s actually a decent meal to eat! Great work on everything you did today!!!

    I guess I kinda did weights then cardio today, too, but usually do it the other way around. I did weights in the morning and my run at night – so not one right after the other, but still switched it up!

  13. I do cardio first, UNLESS I know I really need to do strength training. If want to focus on strength I should do it first so I don’t end up half-assing it. However, if I want to run, which I usually do, I really need to do that first otherwise I’ll be too tired!

    • I can totoally agree with you! I was shocked I was able to do all of my cardio after. Inormally run, but an trying to vary my cardio.. running would definitley be a different story though!

Leave a Reply

