Foodie Friday: Chicken & Pear Stir Fry

Woop, Woop. Do that Friday dance!! I know I am probably going to legitimately be dancing around today at Picnic in the Park.

Fear not – thanks to my FAVORITE FEATURE of scheduling posts – you have your weekly recipe comin’ at ya.. right now!

Now, I don’t know about you, but come summer time, I am somewhat of a fruit fiend! I am craving fruit all the time, trying to incorporate it into every one of my dishes.. if possible.

Breakfast – easy! Berries in my oats.

Lunch – well… just the fruit in and of itself does the job just fine..

Dinner – can be a little but more tricky. Yeah- you can top your salad with fuirt and what not, but I like something that gives a little more.. which is why I bring you one of my new favorites (aka, it is IN THE ROTATION!)

Chicken & Pear Stir Fry

(Serves 2; and note – the chicken can be replaced with any protein!)

Ingredients:

  • 2 chicken breasts, cut into bite size pieces
  • 1 large pear, cut into 1/2 inch cubes
  • 1 tbsp low sodium soy sauce
  • 1 tbsp sherry wine vinegar
  • 1/2 tbsp honey
  • 1 tbsp dijon mustard
  • 2 cloves of garlic, smashed

Preparation: 

  • Combine all ingredients, except PEAR in a bowl.  Allow chicken to marinate in refrigerator for 2-3 hours (overnight would be okay too, but if you are in a pinch for time, 2 hours works, as well!)

  • Just before getting ready to cook, cube your pear.

  • Combine chicken mixture and pear cubes in a frying pan over MEDIUM heat. (The heat level is important.. because you don’t want soft pears.. they should be heated, warm.. a little bit tender, but you still want the crunch!)

  • Continue to stir mixture until chicken is cooked all the way through and no longer pink.

Justin and I also made 2 servings of quinoa to enjoy! (Seriously, I could enjoy plain old quinoa with ANYTHING!) … and our plate was missing veggies.. so we had a mixture of leftover corn and peas.  Gotta get those veggies in every meal!

The thing that I enjoyed most about this.. was the crunch of the pear.. and the mixture of sweet, sour, and a hint of salt.  I honestly was asking Justin if he wanted to trade some of his pear cubes for my chicken. SO good!

Enjoy your Friday! Hopefully, I am NOT sitting in the dunk tank right now! But if I am.. you know I am doing it with a smile! 🙂

What type of food to you CRAVE when the weather gets warmer!?

19 responses to “Foodie Friday: Chicken & Pear Stir Fry

  1. I crave fruit… and salad! I could eat an entire watermelon in 30 seconds if i was given teh opportunity!

    Good luck in the dunk tank!!

  2. I don’t think I would’ve ever considered pear + chicken. Sounds good though!

  3. I’m not sure about pears & chicken. I don’t like pears, so I think I would have to skip that part. I don’t think Chris likes them either. The chicken looks delish though, I do love me some chicken.

    Hope you are having fun @ your picnic! (I’m a little jealous that you are outside, and I am inside looking out this big window).

  4. I love the sweet and the savory! Bet this would work well with pork too. So creative!

  5. I can’t wait to try this recipe 🙂

  6. I never cook with pear, but this stirfry looks good! I think it would work really well with tofu too! Lately I’ve been craving watermelon – it’s my fave in hot, humid weather!

  7. Ooo! What a unique combination! I can’t wait to try it! 🙂

  8. That looks super good and pretty easy to make. Thank you for sharing. All ideas are helpful. Keep sharing 😉

  9. Wow thats very creative with the pears in the stirfry. I never thought to do that before, but yum!

  10. Anything sweet really! I had some kiwi yesterday and it really hit the sweet spot!

  11. This sounds soo good! I am craving fruit like a mad woman too! I think it might be because they provide extra hydration…you should SO try making a stir-fry with pineapple and mango. It’s amazing!

  12. I see you getting dunked right now! Ha! Oh my! I cant wait to see pics from that!!

    Happy Friday! I have never had pears in a meal and that just looks so damn good! Love it!

    Love you!

    Do the Friday dance for sure!!

  13. I’m ALL about the fruit when it gets warmer! I can’t get enough of it 🙂

  14. This is such a good idea! I’ve never thought to put pears in a savory dish. I totally crave fruit all the time- even more so in the summer!

  15. chicken and pear?! yumm- so creative!

  16. Pingback: Foodie Friday: Caribbean Turkey Burger with Mango Salsa | Beyond Bananas

Leave a Reply

