Monday Morning Muffins

Ohhh Monday. How rapidly you have arrived.  I feel like you were just here a day or two ago.. and now you’ve reared your annoying-ness right back into my face.. once again.

This weekend – felt like one of those weekends that kind of didn’t exist.  I don’t feel like I got an opportunity to recover from last week.. and I am already back up & at em!

Perhaps my energy levels are still waning from Picnic in the Park on Friday.  Or I could still be  in shock over the brand new Kindle my family got me this weekend.. and perhaps I have yet to regain my energy from the state of shock.  Maybe it was all the running around I did on Saturday that has this weekend feeling FAR too short.  I was hoping that my day of rest yesterday would have been enough.. but I’d really like to crawl back into bed and just stay there for an undetermined amount of time.

As I elluded to yesterday, I spent a lot of my relaxation time in the KITCHEN.  I’ve got a couple recipes coming your way within the next couple of days.. but these babies just couldn’t wait.

Remember all these dishes?!

When I first started my blog… the only thing I was making was muffins. I made PB Banana Muffins Carrot-Spice Muffins – all within a weeks time.

I told myself I needed to stop with the muffins.

But its been a while since I’ve gotten down and dirty with my muffin pan – and yesterday, the Muffin Woman was BACK in action.

Blueberry Oat Bran Muffins

Makes 12 LARGE muffins

Ingredients

  • 1.5 c. Oat Bran
  • .5 c. Whole Wheat Flour
  • .5 c. Whole Wheat Pastry Flour
  • 2 tbsp brown sugar/splenda blend
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1/3 c. unsweetened applesauce
  • 2 tbsp honey
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 2 egg whites
  • 1 tbsp lemon juice
  • 1 c. Vanilla Almond Breeze Almond Milk ( minus 1 tbsp)
  • 1 c. blueberries (I used frozen!)

Preperation

  • Preheat Oven to 375*. Place muffin tins in your muffin tray – or grease/spray with non-stick cooking spray.
  • Take a measuring cup and add the 1 tbsp of lemon juice.  Add you almond milk until it fills to the 1 cup line (so you won’t have a full cup of almond milk).  Let this sit for 5 minutes. It serves as a substitute for buttermilk!

  • Combine all other ingedients (including milk/lemon juice mixture once the 5 minutes has passed) except for the blueberries.
  • Stir well.
  • Once all other ingredents are blended, add blueberries.
  • Scoop batter into muffin tins. They will be very full 🙂

  • Bake at the 375* for 20 minutes (or until toothpick comes out clean!)

Remove.. cool.. and ENJOY!

These are a delicious and healthy alternative to a muffin purchased at a store!  While the muffin itself may be smaller – let’s compare the nutrition stats between one of these muffins – and both the original & reduced fat versions of the blueberry muffins at Dunkin’ Donuts.  (The following information was obtained at DunkinDonuts.com .. and more can be found here.)
Nutritional Information:
Ingredients:

Blueberry Muffin from Dunkin’ Donuts

Nutritional Information:

Ingredients:

And now for these Blueberry Oat Bran Muffins:

(Nutritional Information Calculated by SparkPeople.com – after I entered all ingredients)

The ingredients are listed above – and are very different (and more wholesome) than those found in the DD muffins.

Besides the calorie and fat difference between the muffins – something that glared at me was the sugar content!  The DD Reduced Fat and Regular Fat Blueberry Muffin have 42 and 48 grams of sugar respectively.

My muffins have only 6 grams.

True – there is a big difference in the size of the serving. HOWEVER – part of controlling how we eat…. controlling what we eat.. is controlling our PORTION sizes.  If you ask me.. those DD muffins are just too big.

You can even have two of my muffins – and still be WAY better off (just looking at nutrition stats).

Homemade anything – is almost always going to be the healthier option.. especially when it comes to baked goods.

Making these muffins – preperation and baking time – took me about 35 minutes. Now – Justin has breakfast every day (and  I will probably STILL have my oats.. but these are definitley yummy!)

As a former frequent customer of Dunkin’ Donuts – getting the things on their DDSmart menu on a regular basis – I was taken back when I checked out the ingredients and nutritional value of these smart foods. The occasional splurge is okay – but I am more into eating breakfast (lunch & dinner) in Cait’s Kitchen 🙂

Do you eat your breakfast on the go – or do you try and get it cooked at home?!
What is your favorite flavor of muffins?  
38 responses to “Monday Morning Muffins

  1. I might have to make these–I just bought a huge carton of blueberries this weekend!

    I am an early bird, so I always eat breakfast at home.
    I love lemon poppyseed muffins.

  2. High five for delicious and nutritious muffins!! I eat breakfast at home 99% of the time. I eat out for breakfast only when Hubbs and I have a morning catch up date 🙂

    • Aww. Maybe Justin and I should have morning dates too.. to mix it up! I can’t even tell you the last time I went out to breakfast – though i am sure we will doing it when we go to San Fran next week!

  3. Those muffins look way more delicious anyway! I find that commercial muffins look extremely greasy & gross. 500 calories for one muffin?!!!
    I almost always eat breakfast at home, but if I’m on the go, I will bring a vitatop & iced coffee with me.

    • I want to have vitatops so bad! THey look amazing!! I can never bring myself to spend themoney for them at the soter.. they are on the pricey side! I suppose if you added up how much you’d spend if you purchased breakfast every morning.. it woul dbe considerably less though. What is your favorite flavor?

  4. I usually like to eat breakfast at home. Back home, there’s a little dive breakfast joint that typical greasy spoon fare & I do like to swing by there occasionally, but other than that, I’m happy with whatever I whip up at home usually.

    My favorite flavor of muffin is pumpkin, but I’m much more of a scone girl 🙂

  5. Fantastic nutrition on those muffins! Definitely need to try this recipe!

  6. I’m totally with you on the invisible weekend thing. I can’t believe I’m already back at my desk! I feel like I never left 😦

    I usually always eat breakfast at home. I like what I like and it’s often hard to find that when eating out (though I DID just buy a muffin from Le Pain Quotidien last week so I guess I’m kind of lying. Haha. But it was an anomaly, I swear! 😉 )! I love muffins and it would be a toss up for me between pumpkin and apple cinnamon – but blueberry is delicious as well.

    • Yum. I love apple cinnamon too! I made blueberry ones because I know how much Justin loves them.. and I made it as his breakfast for the week.
      Today it served as both his breakfast and dessert. That must mean they taste alright!

  7. OMG. dunkin donuts blueberry muffins are my FAVORITE!!!!!!! (i get the reduced fat kind, ha ha). I usually get them on the weekends when we are headed to the boat or something. I try to stay away from them during the week. they are soo delicious.. I have looked up the nutritional info and choked at the calorie count..then i put it in the back of my mind and chowed down (ha!)

    I am DEFINITELY making these blueberry muffins. Since I subscribe to your blog, it comes in my e-mail and i’m moving this e-mail right over to the recipe folder!!

  8. I used to LOVE frosted cinnamon rolls on the go for breakie until I found out they had almost 600 calories!!!! I almost died when I saw this. With the exception of the occasional lazy Sunday when the hubs and I go out for a sit down breakie with friends, I always make something healthy & delish at home.

  9. Isn’t the nutritional info kind of disturbing for their supposed “healthier” version? I eat breakfast at home when possible. When I’m on the road for work I try to get oatmeal at Starbucks.

  10. Oh my goodness those look so tasty. I am always up for healthy alternatives. Plus, I can save money by making my own muffins!

    Maybe I can try this recipe sometime this week (:

  11. Totally agree with you. I love homemade muffins! I don’t eat muffins at restaurants or from fast food places cause you know they have a ton of sugar and fat.

  12. Ahhh another muffin recipe for me to try and they’re my favorite – blueberry!! Although pumpkin-maple are pretty close. Muffins are the best thing ever invented 🙂 My friends call me the muffin girl hehe 🙂

  13. Those muffins sound so delicious… I am starving!
    Enjoy your day, Cait.
    Take care,
    Lisa

  14. These look fantastic!! I’ve had wheat bran muffins before, but never oat bran. Love how healthy they are, too! …I definitely wouldn’t stop at just two. 😉

  15. Those muffins look SO good… and I Have to say I”m jealous you got a kindle! I’ve been dying for one!

    My first meal is always at home… but everything else (I eat alot of breakfasty foods) is on the go!

  16. Pumpkin chocolate muffins are my current obsession, but I’m not picky. I’ve been loving some oat bran lately, so I may have to try these. I made the mistake of eating on the run and grabbing one of those DD muffins once, and I about fainted when I saw the nutrition stats on them later. Yikes!

  17. Homemade raspberry and white chocolate wholewheat muffins are my favourite at the moment… might have to put the ingredients into Spark people and see how they fare… 🙂 I always eat breakfast at home and when i’m working I normally make something to take with me… depending on how organised I am obviously! 😉

  18. I definitely believe in homemade baked goods. Definitely tons healthier than anything you buy at a store especially since you know that’s going into it. Those muffins look delicious, I love the blueberries. I’m definitely a breakfast at home girl, never on the go 🙂

  19. Those muffins look fab 🙂 *bookmarks page*… Can’t wait to try them. And so much better than dunking donuts!! No contest there 🙂

  20. I am definitely going to make these! I’m never tempted to buy muffins anymore because I have so many good and healthy recipes. Store bought muffins have SO much weird crap in them!

  21. Oh my heavens these look like wonderful muffins! I do love both berries and oat bran mm mmm! 🙂

  22. LOVE the healthified blueberry muffins! =) These look just as fabulous as their naughty counterparts! I might even try them out! Though my baking skills are the worst evaaaaa!

  23. Mmm muffins…I really should make some soon. I’ve gone TONS of bananers waiting for me to use them…tomorrow’s activity can we say?!?! My fave flavour of muffin would probably be banana – my grandma makes a killer banana cran muffin…or I’m an old lady and would say anything with bran in it haha

  24. Pingback: WIAW – Recent Eats | Beyond Bananas

Leave a Reply

