Foodie Friday: Caribbean Turkey Burger with Mango Salsa

Happy Friday!  Happiest of Fridays to me.  (Actually, I am sure today is going to be a very emotional day for me. I was blessed with the most wonderful group of kids that a teacher could ask for. I will miss them tremendously – and know that no other class will compare to my first class. They are always going to hold a super special place in my heart!)

Today’s recipe is something I came up with over the weekend. And once I finally tried it – it was nothing short of amazing.

I have a deep   love for turkey   burgers.. but have been eating the same blend in my burger for quite a while now (pretty much just hot sauce and chili powder) .. and I wanted something very different.

Something that could somehow incorporate my summer love of fruit..

Something with a sweet twist.. but with a devilish kick.

And I bring all of those qualities to you in this week’s Foodie Friday.

Caribbean Turkey Burger with Mango Salsa

Mango Salsa

Ingredients

  • 1 Mango – Cubed- (this gave me about 1.5 cups
  • 4 c. red onions, cubed
  • 1/8 c. red pepper
  • 1/8 c. green pepper
  • 1/8 c. green onions
  • 1 tbsp lemon juice
  • 1 tbsp lime juice
  • 1 tbsp pineapple juice
  • 2 tsp fresh cilantro, chopped

Preperation

  • Combine all items in a bowl. Mix well.  Cover and refridgerate for atleast 4-6 hours to allow flavors or run throughout! 🙂

Turkey Burger

Ingredients

  • 1/2 to 2/3 lb of extra lean turkey meat
  • 1 tsp lemon juice
  • 1.5 tsp fresh cilantro, chopped
  • 1 tsp caribbean jerk seasoning
  • Salt and Pepper to taste

Preperation

  • Combine all items in the bowl.  Mix together with hands. Form into patties. Set aside until ready to be grilled.

 

  • Grill (on regular grill .. or in my case on the Foreman Grill) until no longer pink inside.

I had my burger on an Arnold’s Sandwich Thin.  I topped it with a VERY generous amount of Salsa.  There was an AWESOME kick to these burgers.. as the spices of the jerk burger and the salsa worked extremly well together!

I might as well throw another recipe at you today!

Spicy Sweet Potato Rounds

Ingredients

  • Sweet Potato (2 small or one large. look for the skinny kind so it is easier to create rounds).
  • 1.5 tsp oil of choice
  • 1 tsp lemon juice
  • 1.5 tsp chile powder
  • .5 tsp pepper
  • sprinkle of salt

Preperation

  • Preheat Oven to 450*
  • Event slice sweet potato into rounds

  • In a bowl, mix the sweet potatoes and all other ingredients
  • Lay rounds on a silicon baking mat to prevent sticking

  • Bake for 13 minutes.
  • Remove from oven and flip rounds.
  • Bake for 13 more minutes.

They look a little crispy..  but I promise you they are delicious!! 🙂 Pair this together with the Jerk Burger and Mango Salsa.. and it is a slammin’ meal 🙂

What is your favorite type of salsa?! I definitly want to experiment with more fruity salsas this summer.. you know how me and fruit go.. like two peas in a pod! 🙂

22 responses to “Foodie Friday: Caribbean Turkey Burger with Mango Salsa

  1. This is awesome! I have made mango salsa and serve it a top grilled chicken, but I LOVE the idea of adding it to a jerk turkey burger. I’m all about burgers/toppings.

  2. The salsa looks fabulous! Love the sweet potato chips. i’ve been eating baked sweet potatoes lately for dinner. gonna try these tonight! ♥

  3. I seriously think I”m drooling! I loev turkey burgers and anything with a spicey kick! YUM!

    Hope your last day is going wel!

  4. I would eat mango salsa on just about anything. Love mangoes! I just saw a recipe for a honeydew salsa that I’m intrigued by too but I really hate cutting melons. Too lazy for that. Hope you have a good last day of school!

  5. That salsa looks so good. I’m on such a mango kick atm… 🙂

  6. Wow, everything looks delicious I am going to have to make this sometime soon. The salsa sounds so good and fairly easy to make, I am already thinking what else I can do with it.

  7. Nice salsa and the sweet potato chips look awesome! Got some fresh peaches I might make a version of salsa with it or maybe even a chutney. Great post!

  8. Perrfect meal!! I really need to make SP crisps soon. Just realized how much I miss them!

    I’m sure your school kids are missing you, too. But you’ll probably get to see them in the halls and what not next year!

  9. I make turk burgs and sweet taters all the time! I made it last night weird! I put some shredded cheese in the ground turkey and 1/2 packet of dry ranch dressing – very flavorful! I’m going to try salsa next time

  10. I love it! Those look delicious. We actually have some ground turkey in the freezer I looove turkey burgers! It’s such a great summer time food. Have fun on your trip! My favorite salsa is green mountain gringo salsa – medium. It’s soo delicious

  11. Love the sweet tatter rounds. I’ve only made them into fries before!

  12. I love sweeter salsas too. I might have to try experimenting…especially to make one with mango, because that really does appeal to me. Mango, red onion and cilantro and totally my top three requirements! Yours looks great with the burg!

    • This mango was so ripe too! I always have trouble judging the ripeness of mangoes because they are a regular fruit in the house. Iwas excited when I picked a ripe one hahah

Leave a Reply

