When a father loves his daughter

When a father loves his daughter – he is willing to do anything.. everything .. in order to make her happy. To see a bright shining smile on her face.

When a father loves his daughter – he does the simple (and often not so simple things) to ensure safety and secruity.

I know that this man has done everything in his power – to ensure that I am happy.  He has done it for the past 25 years.  He will do for the next 25 years.. and then some.

It is not often that I sit down – and truly reflect upon my life – and all of the good times I have shared with my family. My mother, father, and brother. To reflect upon the love that is shared amongst us.  Sadly – it is often holidays – like today – that bring about these thoughts.  I know I should reflect more often – show my thankfulness, gratitude, and appreciation more often

I hope it goes unsaid – that I have never ending gratefulness for the love my father has showed me over the years – for the things he has taught me- the things he has given me.

Whether he was helping me become a pro at mini golf –

Or entertaining a group of 6 year olds at a birthday party

Or hiding behind the camera to capture the happiness of his family

Hey Disney.. and Chocolate Face

Or just hanging out on the couch

There was always one focal point – and it was family. The needs of his family. The happiness of his family.

So Dad, today I thank you. I thank you for loving me. For supporting me. For always being there for me.

I thank you for making sure my every need was always met.. is still always met – and will always be met for years to come.

Thank you for traveling across the state – to find that Perfect Brownie Maker.. or that Perfect Pancake Maker…

Because you heard me mention it once.. and you wanted me to have it.

Thank you for always being sure there is food for me to eat when I come home – be it yogurt, Ezekiel bread, turkey, chicken, edamame hummus, bananas ( I could go on forever here).

Thank you for all the the big things – and the small things.. and all of the things in between that you have done for me.

Thank you for always sharing with me your pride in me.. in our family.

Thank you – for being sure that there is a smile on my face.

Happy Father’s Day, Dad. While I may be over 3,000 miles away – please know that I am thinking of you – and all of the things that you  have to – to show your love for me – and to invoke happiness in my life.

I love you.

6 responses to “When a father loves his daughter

  1. Aww, sweet! 🙂
    Have a great time in San Francisco!! =)

  2. Your dad sounds like a fantastic guy. Beautiful post!

    Hope you’re having a great time in SF!

  3. What a cute post! Happy Father’s day to your daddy 😀

  4. Cuteness! Happy Daddy’s Day and hope you’re having a blast in SF! 🙂

  5. Such a sweet post, your father is clearly a wonderful man and her raised an equally fabulous daughter 🙂

    So glad you’re having such a wonderful time in SF 🙂

Leave a Reply

