Sprinting to Laura’s Table

Hello! My name is Laura and I write a blog called Sprint 2 the Table. Sprint 2 the Table is a collection of recipes, food adventures, races, strength training, and general pontification.

Why the name?

I live my live from meal to meal. Sometimes I think I’m just hustling through my daily activities so I can get to the next occasion for mastication. At bedtime some people count sheep, some people have lull-a-byes… I fall asleep at night thinking about what I’m going to eat for breakfast. It’s a sickness, I know. Oh yeah, I also run.

Part of my “sheep counting” involves of dreaming up new and different recipes. I rarely eat the same thing twice. More often I will have variations of the same thing. (Hello, chia pudding!)

Today I decided to try something new.

I had a dozen local, farm-fresh eggs and a super-size container cottage cheese that needed to be utilized.

To many people this would scream “Omelet!” I’ve seen many a tasty-looking recipe for cottage cheese-stuffed omelets. Sadly, one of my most embarrassing shortcomings is that I suck at making omelets. (Ok, maybe not the most embarrassing… but it is shameful!)

In the interest of playing it safe, I decided to concoct an egg bake using cottage cheese.

This recipe is a great because you can easily change up the fillings to fit your mood. (PMS chocolate bake, anyone? Pleeeeease some one try it. LOL!)

Today I was feeling herb-y. And garlicky.

Have you ever tried garlic scapes?

As you probably know, garlic bulbs grow underground. As it grows, it produces a shoot that become visible. It’s a long, curly thin thing called a scape.

They still taste like garlic, just slightly more mild with a little spice on the end. The texture is more like that of a green bean. Use them any where you would use garlic or a bigger-flavored herb.

_______________________________________________________

 Cottage Cheese and Egg Scape Bake

  • 1/4 C cottage cheese 
  • 1 egg 
  • 1 egg white 
  • 1 tsp nutritional yeast (or cheese of your choice) 
  • 1/4 tsp red pepper flakes 
  • 1/4 C frozen (or sautéed) kale 
  • 1 T fresh rosemary, chopped 
  • 1-2 garlic scapes, chopped 
  • 2 basil leaves, chiffonade
  •  S+P, to taste 

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Beat the eggs and cottage cheese together until well-combined and beginning to fluff. Add remaining ingredients and beat again to combine.

Pour into a ramekin and bake for 35-40 mins. Note: You may need to broil for 1-2 mins at the end to finish off the top. Be sure to watch closely so it doesn’t get too browned (see my pic for example of borderline too browned. 🙂 ).

** Do you tend to use the same base recipes but change up the mix-ins?

8 responses to “Sprinting to Laura’s Table

  1. I discovered garlic scapes last year and used them to make a pesto. For some reason I thought they wouldn’t be as strong as garlic since they were green and long (kinda like elephant garlic-well not the green & long part but the less strong part). Boy was I wrong! That was the most garlicky pesto ever!

  2. I grow garlic and just started pulling the scapes this year. (It’s only my second crop.) What a great way to use scapes. And I love that you use kale too. Wonderful recipe.

  3. That looks great! I haven’t tried garlic scapes yet, but they sound good to me.

  4. Hi Laura!

    That looks absolutely amazing! So creamy, veggie full and satisfying mmm mmm!

    I still haven’t bought any garlic scapes and I need to as anything garlic flavored sounds great to me 🙂

    BTW I totally live from meal to meal as well! 🙂

    • Hey! I was hesitant ant first, but one of the guys at my farmer’s market actually gave me a bunch to try. You should definitely check them out if you are a garlic fan!

      Cheers to the next meal! 🙂

  5. Pingback: Cottage Cheese and Egg Herb Bake | Sprint 2 the Table

  6. Ooh I didn’t ever realise you could eat that part! I love garlic so will have to get my hands on some! Great recipe! 🙂

Leave a Reply

