Back To Life..Back to Reality

I am kind of back to reality.

By reality.. I  mean home. Because summer is not really reality for a teacher I suppose.

 

By reality.. I mean cooking my own breakfast…

Oh yes.  You see that properly. I did not have oats this morning. I had oats every morning on vacation.. and was not feeling a hot bowl of oats today.  Instead, I had some egg whites, spinach, broccoli, and salsa.  This delicious egg connection was accompanied by Kiwi and Ezekiel Bread with Cranberry Apple Butter.

 

By reality .. I mean getting back to the gym.

After hanging around waiting for a phone call until about noon, I was finally off to the gym. I was so excited to have all of the equipment that I desired at my fingertips.

Todays cardio workout looked like this:

In 32 minutes, I covered 4.12 miles. I pushed it really hard at the end and felt amazing.

Then, it was time to hit the weights.  I did 2 sets of each of these exercises

  • Around the world lunges (with curls, presses and tris)
  • Sumo Squats with curls
  • Over the Head Russian Twists (Standing)
  • Firemen Squats
  • Side Bends/Windmills
  • Flys on Bench
  • Chest Press
  • 25’s (ab crunches with weights on stomach)
  • Bicycle crunches
  • Plank (60 seconds)
What a great burn! I was feeling more then great when I walked out of the gym. Felt great to be back!

By reality, I mean no more sunny skies.. humidity free 70 degree days.

California weather was amazing.

Connecticut weather.. is not.

It has been raining all day. At times.. torrential down pours.  It began pouring while I was at the gym. I was wearing a white tank top.

After sprinting to the car, my tank top was no longer white.. but rather see-through. Good thing I was wearing a bright yellow sports bra.

 

By reality, I mean a trip to the grocery store in said pouring rain.

When you return from vacation… well.. there is no food in the house (Not much worth eating, anyway).  All of our perishable items that had the possibility of stinking up the fridge while we were gone were tossed.

No fresh fruits. No fresh veggies. Nothing for lunch.

Despite my state of wetness, I sat in the parking lot at the gym for a good 10 minutes debating in my head whether I should go home and put a dry (not white) shirt on.  I eventually decided to go to the store. (Who wants to go back home.. then back out.. when they are already out. Sorry. I am too lazy for that).

I went to my favorite store:

And came home with some bananas, carrots, apples, egg white salad, more ezekiel bread, peanut butter, apple sauce.. and my favorite snack bar.. PURE BARS!

 

These bars are really one of my FAVORITE snacks.  Trader Joes sells the chocolate brownie and the cherry cashew.. and these are so tasty. I could probably eat them every day if I wanted!

 

By reality, I mean eating my all time favorite lunch..prepared by me..not by someone else!

 

As you know, I’ve been eating out quite often. But being home, means making my own breakfast, lunch and dinner again!  This makes a happy Cait!

Today’s lunch was a usual lunch consumed at home:

Turkey, Apples, Mozzerlla, Mustard on Ezekial, 1/2 Banana with PB, Other 1/2 of apple, and some carrots (with extra PB).

HIT THE SPOT!  I missed this lunch while I was away.

 

 By reality, I mean massive loads of laundry.. washing, folding, the whole 9 yards.

This.. is just my laundry from the trip. I washed everything. Even if it wasn’t worn. (Especially since it was all soaked at some point).

I am not ignoring Justin – but he was a trooper and actually went to WORK today – and didn’t do anything with his suitcase. Some of his shirts go to the cleaners.. so I will let him tell me what needs to be washed.

I decided to throw ALL of the unfolded laundry on the bed – so I have to fold it before going to bed.

When Justin came home from work.. exhausted and feeling sick.. he moved the clothes to my dresser to take a nap.  I asked if it could occupy a small corner of the bed .. so I could follower through with my plan.

He let me because he is such a great guy! Woke up, I folded. And MADE myself put it away too – or else it would have just sat there.. perhaps for the next month.

By reality.. I mean lots of mail.. with lots of goodies!

Justin and I forgot to put a stop on our mail. WOOPS.

But thats okay.. because we were able to see everything that came while we were gone at 3AM instead of having to go to the post office to pick it up!!

In the mail – was this beautiful necklace from LISA @ Fishyface Design.

This is the necklace that was up for grabs during the Baking for Boobies sale.. that Justin donated to win!

 

I also received these yummy probiotic bars from Annelies at Attune Foods.  I am going to eat one every day for 2 weeks – in hopes of helping out some digestive issues that I have been battling for quite some time now!

I will be giving a full review of the product once I finish them – and will also explain a little more about my ongoing battle with my stomach!

 

I also want to give a special shout out and a HUGE thank you to Lisa @ Healthy Diaries, Lisa @ Healthful Sense, Laura @ Sprint to the Table,  Char @ Char on a Mission, and Vivianne @ Greek Yogurt  for their AWESOME guest posts! I know I sure loved reading them all – and I know that you can all agree with me! Very fortuante to have such lovely blog friends to help me out while I am traveling 🙂

 

SO – How do you snap back to reality after being away?! I guess I do it in a pretty boring way 🙂

** Hope you checked out my recap of Muir Woods/Wine Country ... will be posting more tomorrow afternoon .. after my FOODIE FRIDAY post in the morning…**

19 responses to “Back To Life..Back to Reality

  1. Welcome back to reality! It’s hard to get adjusted after being gone, but going to TJ’s always eases the pain for me 🙂

  2. Definitely have to get myself back into a routine after I’m away. That makes things a lot easier.

  3. Sometimes I bad for snapping back to reality since I already have a hate relationship with laundry when I’m not traveling haha… and I honestly think laundry is the one main thing that results from traveling. I obviously would never struggle with groceries, because I love the grocery store way too much to not visit it frequently. I think just giving yourself a little relaxation if you need it, then dig in and get it over with!

    • Yes. I had to do laundry ASAP. or it would sit in my bad (and I need socks to work out tomorrow). And.. if I didn’t fold it.. it would have stayed in a heap until I wore it. Same thing for putting it away. HAhah.

      I feel like there were way too many cothes though.. I don’t know where they all came from. It looked like a load I’d bring home from college.

  4. I get right back into my routine when I return from traveling. Otherwise my anxiety levels go through the roof when chores start feeling as if they are getting out of control. Laundry is the bane of my existence but then you feel nice and satisfied when it’s all done!
    I have never tried those bars, must do so NOW 🙂
    Welcome back m’dear!

  5. Girrrrllll… I do not envy all that laundry! *shudder*

    Thanks for the opportunity to guest post!

  6. Yey for summer! I have been putting off doing laundry all day! uugggh my least favorite chore but it definitely needs to be done since I need to pack my clothes! 😛

    I LOVE your strength workout! I am doing it tomorrow! 🙂

    Hope Justin feels better soon! 🙂

  7. Welcome back! 🙂 I’m sure you can leave that laundry for at least another day or two… the only really important thing is the food shop! 😉

  8. Need to look for those bars next time I’m at TJ’s!

  9. Looks to me like you came home to a very lovely reality indeed! 🙂 So glad you had an awesome NorCal trip; maybe next time you’ll consider coming down south? 😉 And I totally want to try those bars now — they look awesome! Welcome home!

  10. Looking forward to your review on the Attune chocolate! I was thinking about buying them but I’m not sure about it yet…

    After vacation I usually just take it slow and ease myself into reality =)

  11. Seems like you’re back on track and that workout was AWESOME! It’s been raining\storming non stop in Chicago so I feel your pain! Thankfully it’s supposed to clear up tomorrow and be nice for the weekend! 🙂

    I pretty much snap back to reality how you do! I like to start getting back on tracking with my eating and exercising right away and doing laundry after a long trip is the worst! I dread it!

  12. I was singing that song in my head reading this entire post! and still am..probably will be all day, too. 😉

    It’s always hard getting back to reality after a vacation. Especially one to CA! But, I just take it one day at a time. It’ll all be back to normal by tomorrow 🙂

  13. Woah that IS a lot of laundry lol!!
    I snap back into reality by going back to work and walking my dog 🙂

  14. Haha, we’re doing laundry RIGHT NOW! 🙂

Leave a Reply

