Foodie Friday: Who Says Pumpkin is a Fall Food?

Seriously? Its Friday?  That seems super strange to me.

Since I haven’t worked all week. I’ve kind of lost track of the days. (You can be jealous, just don’t drop kick me, please.)

I worried that I would not have enough time to whip something up for ya this Friday. But, since my internal clock is readjusting still, I had a burst of energy and decided I want to use that energy in my kitchen! :0)

A couple of weeks ago when I was visited my parents, I saw this coveted, precious item on the shelves.

Ahhhh. Canned pumpkin puree.  It is always VERY hard to find puree pumpking (NOT PUMPKIN PIE MIX) in the store at this time of year. (Well, at least in this area of the country).

Week after week, I stroll down the baked goods aisle..just in case they found an old can on a shelf in the dungeon of the store. (Yes, I would still eat it).

Apparently.. an hour up the road.. there is no such “pumpkin shortage”

So, last night, when I was rummaging through my rather empty cabinets.. this can of pumpkin puree was just staring me down.. begging to be used.

Being the sweet, nice girl that I am, I honored the request of this little can of pumpkin and made a treat.

Actually.. it is more then a treat. It can accompany a breakfast, lunch, dinner. It can be used as a snack.. as a dessert.  Pretty versatile, don’t ya think?!

Pumpkin Oatmeal Squares

Makes 24 squares

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 c. whole wheat flour
  • 1/2 c. whole wheat pastry flour
  • 3/4 cups rolled oats
  • 1 c. pumpkin puree
  • 3/4 c. unsweetened applesauce
  • 2 egg whites
  • 1 tbsp honey
  • 2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 tsp nutmeg
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 c. cashews (ground magic bullet)
  • 1/4 c. shredded coconut (optional – I used unsweetened reduced fat)

Preperation
  • Preheat Oven to 350*
  • Mix all ingredients in large bowl (except for coconut)
  • Pour batter into a 13 X 9 inch pan (previously sprayed with non-stick)
  • Sprinkle with coconut if desire
  • Bake for 20 – 25 minutes

These are not too sweet – but I don’t need my pumpkin goods to be sweet. I bet they would be great crumbled into yogurt!

I’ve been on a kick of entering my recipes into Sparkpeople. And I am never disappointed when I see the nutriional information.  Especially when I concoct a baked good that uses healthy ingredeients.. and is something that I actually enjoy!

Once again, the nutritional stats do not disappoint. Below  – find the stats for a the sqaures made WITHOUT using coconut on top…

Check out that Vitamin A 🙂

And here – the squares with my reduced fat unsweetened shredded coconut:

Just a 3 calorie difference 🙂

I made both – I spinkled a small amount over a portion of my goodies – so I can experience the best of both worlds!

I am totally for eating foods when they are “out of season.” Pumpkin is one of my favorite things to eat.. not in the fall. I am pretty sure I will be enjoying some pumpkin pie oats pretty soon. as I do not want to let a drop of this left-over pumpkin go to waste!!

Any other suggestions for some great goodies I can make with pumpkin!?  Great links?  Feel free to share.. I am in a baking mood!

15 responses to “Foodie Friday: Who Says Pumpkin is a Fall Food?

  1. Make pumpkin bread! It’s one of my favorite things to do with pumpkin!
    http://laughterstrengthfood.com/?p=385

    Your squares look yummy! I need to go out and replenish my pumpkin supply!

  2. mmm i love pumpkin!! it is one of the many reasons why fall is my favorite time of the year!

  3. These look awesome cait!!

  4. Oh man those look so good! They need to make pumpkin available year-round everywhere 🙂

  5. I love those Pumkin Oatmeal Squares! They look really yummy =)
    I think Pumkin is also the perfect Summer food =)

  6. I hoarded pumpkin from last fall but everytime I think about adding it to oats or yogurt my stomach is all “hell no”. This might be a good option though b/c it actually looks appealing to me! I didn’t realize I would have such a seasonal distinction to pumpkin!

  7. I want those! I can easily enjoy pumpkin year-round, but I admit, I go a little punkin’ crazy come fall.

  8. Those squares look amazing! I love coconut! I randomly put some pumpkin pie spice in my steel cut oats last night – SO good!

  9. yum!!! those look delicious!

  10. I eat pumpkin/winter squash year round! Actually… I just had one of my butternut squash biscuits with lunch and I bet the recipe-base could be used for pumpkin biscuits.

    Love this recipe – especially the low sugar content!

  11. I ALMOST used pumpkin today too! I definitely agree it can be (and SHOULD be!) used year-round 🙂

  12. Making these this weekend! I am pumpkin obsessed!

  13. I firmly believe that pumpkin should be eaten all year long 🙂 This looks amazing!

  14. Those look AMAZING!! 🙂 I love Pumpkin!!! Especially all year round. 🙂

Leave a Reply

